Back On the Map

Oh, the blog has been a quiet, quiet place in the last couple weeks. There will, however, be no apologies.

The week before last we had a Vision Tripper here, and I probably would have written while she was here, but the day after she arrived a friend who was over visiting asked if I had ever wanted to go to the Dominican Republic. I did want to go, and because Chris had already been twice, we hadn’t made plans to go. So, in about twenty minutes we went from a question being posed to having plans to leave in 6 days so Chris could drop us off at the bus station the same day he took our Vision Tripper to the airport. That meant the rest of the week was filled with trying to host our guest, and make sure I had everything taken care of for the week I was away, which would have included getting class materials ready for a class we have starting tomorrow.

Elsie and I got on the bus on Saturday morning and arrived back in Port au Prince late Thursday evening. We spent the week in Santo Domingo, and had a ton of fun. I won’t lie, I think I came home almost more tired that when I left. We saw and did a bunch of stuff, and it’s got my brain swimming about so many things. Mostly that the Dominican Republic and Haiti share the same island, and they are in completely different places developmentally. I had heard it, but until one sees it with their own eyes it’s hard to imagine. Let me sum it up for you… I went to IKEA in Santo Domingo. A VERY large IKEA.

While Elsie and I spent days seeing the sites and touching history I kept writing blog posts in my mind. I even wrote notes so I wouldn’t forget certain things! There’s so much I want to verbally unpack, and I don’t know if I’ll get to the point where I feel I’ve done that, but I want to.

For now though, my kids are in bed and my husband and I are going to go sit on our deck and have some down time before the place fills up with students tomorrow. If you think of us please pray this week. We love teaching classes because it means more people will be getting filters, but it takes a lot of time and energy on a good day. Chris and the kids got some sort of bug while I was away, and while we all hoped I would escape it I didn’t. It sucks all your energy, something we’re all going to need this week. Pray that Chris and I will both bounce back quickly because we have a lot to juggle this week.

~Leslie

 

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Back On the Map

  1. Praying now that good health will return and you will be able to go through the week and beyond accomplishing all that the Lord has planned for you.

Leave a Comment

