Summer Food Series

Food Week has always been a highlight here on the blog not just for readers, but also for me because I get to share some of our favorite foods with you. A lot of people that sit around our table or that we meet have a lot of questions about how we/I cook here in the tropics and doing our food features is a way to share some of that with you. It’s always fun for me to see what posts get the most attention and what you guys get the most excited about.

This week we’re getting ready to head out on our summer vacation, and I know that blogging is going to be a challenge while we’re traveling. And, I’ll be honest – there’s been a lot going on and it’s been hard to have the energy and the material to blog about because my mind has been other places. I’m looking forward to having a bit of a break, and hopefully returning fresh come August with all sorts of new stuff to share. I will pop on here from time to time through the summer if there’s something share worthy, don’t worry.

That said, I want to introduce our Summer Food Series. Twice a week this summer for the next 7 weeks I’ll have a post up about something that I’ve been cooking over the last year or so that’s been a hit on some level. Sometimes it’s just something that we enjoy as a family, sometimes it’ll be something that I’ve cooked for groups that have gotten rave reviews.  For those of you that have been taunted on facebook with some of the things I’ve mentioned, you’ll want to follow us this summer because most of those recipes will be making an appearance.

With the exception of one or two recipes everything is easy or quick. I have two kids, full time work and heck, it’s hot and I have zero energy most days because of it. I get it. Some things are meant to be made ahead to make life easier later on. Most things are great for groups so if you have company coming you can give them a whirl. And, like all of the recipes I use, all things are adaptable. Make it yours.

I hope you enjoy the recipes and another little window into our lives here in Haiti. Let us know what you think in the comment section.

Happy Summering!

~ The Rollings

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

