Summer Food Series: Part 2

We recently had a team in, and I was wanting something super easy to make because I didn’t want to be in the kitchen the whole time, especially after a busy day. I know this probably isn’t super original, but it’s something that worked for a big group of people and was yummy and easy. What more could you want in the summer?

Pizza Buns

Ingredients:

Any kind of bun, halved (usually 2 halves per person)
Tomato or spaghetti sauce, seasoned to taste
Mozzarella cheese*
Pepperoni slices (I used 3 small slices, 1 1/2″ diam, per bun)

*I’ve recently started having the deli slice my mozzarella because a) it goes farther that way, and b) waaaay less messy and time consuming when I’m using it on pizza or lasagna. Just lay the slices on and you’re good to go!

Preheat your oven to about 400F. Lay bun halves on a cookie sheet with cut side up. Spread about 1-2 tbsp of sauce on each bun. The bread will absorb the sauce, so you don’t have to worry about over saucing. If you are using grated mozzarella sprinkle enough to cover the bun. If using slices like me two slices will make it nice and cheesy. Place pepperoni slices on top of mozzarella. Bake until cheese is melted and gooey. Cool for a few minutes before serving. Goes great with an easy salad.

You can obviously top them with whatever your family likes. Great idea for a birthday party or to have kids help with a meal. Just sauce and cheese the buns, then let everyone put their own toppings on them.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

