Purging

I’m tired today. I spent a good part of the day cleaning. We had a “storage” (read – junk collection) area up in the loft that really should just be a bedroom, so Chris and I attacked it with a vengance today. Everything now lives in Rubbermaids, and those have been moved into a space that won’t be used for a while. We managed to create 5 big give away boxes that we let our staff go through after they were done work today, and thank goodness, pretty much all of it is gone, with the exception of a few bits and pieces. It feels good to get all of that stuff out of here. Some of it was left over from the previous owners and until now we haven’t been able to do anything to it because we were just renting.

In the midst of that I was trying to make dinner, wash up all of the good stuff that I wanted to keep (there is a CRAZY amount of dust that collects here!), and doing a bunch of other stuff around the house. I know, I know, those are normal things, but most people don’t have to do them when it’s so hot the sweat is dripping off like crazy. I never thought I would actually have to think about rehydrating before I went to bed just so I would have a reserve for the next day!

So, that’s life in the tropics today. Purging and sweating. I think I’m going to go hide under my mosquito net and read for a while.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

