Freak Face

Right now the skin around my eyes is tingling and burning and it’s driving me crazy. I think that while I was in the midst of hanging a mosquito net upstairs this morning I may have absent mindedly touched my eyes, probably to wipe away the sweat. Normally not a problem unless the mosquito net has already been pre-treated with permethrin. I seem to recall doing this before…

I’m excited because today my friend Barb is coming back to Haiti. She’s actually been in the country since 9 am this morning, but I won’t see her until Chris gets back from Port au Prince after picking her up and doing some other errands. Barb has lived in Haiti for about 4 years, and now has a school for children who can’t afford to go to school. In Haiti schools require fees, uniforms and some other expenses, so many families can’t afford to send their kids. Barb’s school is for those kids that get left behind. The don’t have to pay as the school is sponsored by donors, and they don’t have to wear uniforms. Barb lives right next to the school, and has integrated into her community which can be incredibly difficult to do. Barb has been a great source of strenght and friendship since I moved here and I’ve missed her since I’ve been back. She’ll be staying with us for a couple of days while she gets everything organized and cleaned at her house. I’m so looking forward to being able to just sit and chat. I think that’s one of the things that is most difficult for me being here, not having many opportunities to do that.

With Chris being gone for the day I get left to rule the roost. Kind of frightening for someone who has limited Creole. My phone is also not working so I have no way of getting a hold of him if I need to. I asked the guys if I could use one of their phones to call him earlier but apparently none of them have time on their phones?!?! Every time Chris is gone for the day I realize there are things that we need to add to our little check list, like knowing that I have all the keys that I need, or small bills so I can give workers money for fixing flat tires. It’s a learning process.

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

