A Word from Stanley

We had some friends over to visit yesterday and one of their little guys thought my name was Stanley. When they were leaving he said that he liked calling me Stanley, so I told him he could if he wanted to. It was so cute, how could I resist???

It’s Sunday afternoon and things are quiet. Ahh, deep sigh. It’s so nice. Chris and I went to Port on Friday. I realized I hadn’t been off the property, with the exception of going to church a couple weeks ago, in about 3 1/2 weeks. We had a bunch of errands to do while in town and thankfully we got everything done, found everything we needed and didn’t have any problems. This is a rarity here. It’s much healthier to anticipate problems than to expect that you won’t have any. I got my cell phone fixed, but that’s only lasted two days because now the display doesn’t work. We went grocery shopping at the Caribbean Market, which is an American style grocery store. I never thought I would get so excited or overwhelmed with grocery shopping, but I do. When you get used to living where you can’t get most of the stuff you’re used to having in the kitchen, going to a place where you see things you recognize, in abundance, is overwhelming. Chris hates shopping so he just kind of wandered around while I drooled over the shelves. It was wierd though because I almost felt guilty and found myself debating whether we needed things like aluminum foil or a kitchen timer. Not extravagant things by any means, and incredibly useful, but I questioned it none the less. I find I do that when I go back to Canada for the first little while too.

My husband surprised me while we were in town too! When I asked him what we needed to get done, in the midst of hist list was “and while we’re here I think we should try and buy a new bed…” YAY! We’ve been sleeping on a double bed, which wasn’t terrible, but when it’s hot there just isn’t enough room. We ended up finding an outlet store for the matress factory in town (who knew?!?!) and bought ourselves a queen size super orthopedic bed. Another big Ahh. And, we did this in 20 minutes. Fast by normal standard, unbelievable by Haitian standards. Normally it would take about an hour for something like that. So now we have a nice, comfy new bed and no sheets to fit it! We had gotten a few sets of double sheets for wedding presents, but they’re much too small. I have to go to St. Marc this week and see if I can manage to find any queen sized. I’m not sure how lucky I’ll be since most beds here are twin or double. We may have to get them brought in and that means waiting a few months. We’ll figure something out. So now we have officially made our first major purchase as a married couple. Yay for us!

This entry was posted in randomness, this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “A Word from Stanley

  1. Thanks so much for having us over. We are sorry that we left your place with an extra helping of dirt and mud. The kids talked about your chicken on the way to church today. You are Haiti’s Marthat Stuart, nice work.Have a great week. Troy got home in less than 90 minutes … but only ten minutes less. I think Chris should teach him how to get places faster. -Tara

Leave a Comment

