Pli Tard (Later)

I got to talk to my parents this morning. I called to find out how my dad was doing after his golbladder (sp?) surgery yesterday. I miss them like crazy but for the first time in a month they didn’t feel so far away. I heard from a friend on MSN and she told me she’s engaged (yay Christy!) and talked to another friend who gets me (yay for the Quad!). I’m feeling gratitude right now and filled in a way I haven’t been in a while. I love that God reminds me of how he is meeting my needs and gives me eyes to see it when I’m ready to.

I just started reading a new book yesterday about growth. This really struck me as I was reading today in light of my earlier post. So many things that I forget!

From “How People Grow” by Henry Cloud and John Townsend

“GOD’S ROLE WAS TO BE THE SOURCE OR PROVIDER; OUR ROLE WAS TO DEPEND ON THE SOURCE. God originated life, and we were given life. Therefore we depended on God for life and for all that we needed. God’s role was to provide; our role was to recieve. God gave breath; we took it in. God gave the garden; we lived in it and ate from it. God gave us relationship; we recieved intimacy and relatedness. Our role was designed to be a dependent one. He provides; we depend and trust.

If God is the Creator and we are the creation, we have to depend on him for life and provision. Independence is not an option for us. God existed without us, not vice versa. So the role that we must take in life is not only for dependency, but also against self-sufficiency. Our role is to recognize our limits and to transcend those limits by looking outside of ourselves for life. We are limited creatures, not the Creator, and therefore we are not self-sustaining as God is. Thus we are limited in our ability to live alone, apart from God.

The same limitation applies to our relationship with each other. We are limited in our ability to provide what we need for ourselves without another person to relate to. So self-sufficiency from God is not the only relational limit we have. We also need other people and cannot live independently from them either. The results of trying to live apart from our need for others is disatrous and never works. We must depend on the outside for love.

GOD’S ROLE WAS TO BE IN CONTROL; OUR ROLE WAS TO YIELD TO GOD’S CONTROL OF THE WORLD AND OUR SELF. God had done the creating; Adam and Eve could not control that. God had placed them in the garden; they did not control the environment in which they found themselves. God created the animals and the various trees and their fruits; humans did not. In other words, God ws in control of the universe and what happened. He was in charge of the big picture. So many of people’s problems come from trying to control things outside of their control, and when they try, they lose control of themselves. “

This entry was posted in bigger picture by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

