A Little Of This, A Little Of That

I would officially like to give a shout out to my little brother Darren for hooking me up with his SIRIUS online radio account! Whoop whoop for that one. I totally forgoth how much I LOVE music. I’ll admit I’m a top 40 freak. I am not ashamed. Seriously though, it’s so easy to forget how much music was a part of my life and now being able to sit and listen to something other than my dated CD collection is cathartic. Thanks Bud (I won’t use his other nickname here).

It’s Saturday and I was awake at 6:15 am. Yes, it’s true. We got up early to head to Des Chapelles to see our friend Karen who runs an orphanage and school there. When we arrived we learned that she had been in the hospital for two days. We drove over to the Albert Shwietzer hospital to see if we could visit. Karen is a fiesty woman who doesn’t slow down easily. We were able to see her and eventually her doctor came in to check on her and give her the news that she could go home. In Haiti a persons family is responsible for bringing you food and other things to make you as comfortable as possible, so when Karen was able to go we loaded up the two fans, pillow and other personal things that workers from the orphanage had brought her. Once we got her settled we headed back home with a stop in St. Marc for lunch. We ate at “Seven Eleven” but trust me, it looks nothing like a Seven Eleven back home. Haitians tend to name their businesses after things they think are popular in the US. Sometimes the names can be quite funny because the word may not be used in context. Oh well, it keeps things interesting.

Hospital Albert Shweitzer

On Thursday I went to St. Marc for the day with Barb. We had a good morning of running errands and managed to get everything we were looking for. I had my first solo visit to the bank. When Chris and I were engaged I went with him to do some banking one day, mostly because everyone wanted to meet me. I thought he was joking, but no, we walked around and he introduced me to everyone that works there because they really did want to meet me. On Thursday I also found fabric to make curtains for the kitchen cupboards, not in the market like I was expecting, but in a fabric store. It was a store, with bolts of fabric all organized so you could see them clearly, and two very nice ladies to help you make your purchase. It was refreshing and slightly normal.

This is the really exciting fabric purchase!

Thursday was great for reclaiming a bit of independence. I was able to converse quite a bit with people (hey, I bought fabric all by myself!!) and got to experience a bit more of St. Marc. Both are very necessary in helping me feel more at home here.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

