It’s All In the Fit

My husband is HAN-DEE! Chris is pretty much turning into a jack of all trades here in Haiti. You kind of have to cross train when you live in a place like this I guess.

Our toilet seat broke…again. Chris called me from Port on Wednesday and informed me that he had bought a new wooden one which was very boujwa of us (considering most people only have a place to squat or if they’re lucky and cement hole). I laughed and let out a sigh of relief that I wouldn’t have to worry about falling off the bowl any more. When he got it home we realized that it was a bit too long for our toilet. When I pointed this out the response I got was something like, “Well, you’re just going to have to learn to like it because I’m not going back to Port au Prince to return it. And if I did they probably wouldn’t take it back anyway.” The sad truth is that he’s right. Learn to love it I would!

Thursday morning was installation day. It went something like this:

Chris puts his tool box in the bathroom.
Someone calls him away.
He checks email.
He remembers he was installing the toilet seat.
He goes to the bathroom and starts working on it.
I go in to look at it and see just how much it hangs over.
I take the above picture and get, “You’re not posting a picture of me fixing the toilet.” (tee hee)
I tell him that we’ll just have to deal with the overhang.
He ponders this.
I say, “Hey, I think it adds character. Besides, this is Haiti. It fits right in with all the other things that you wish you could try and explain to people. If anything it’ll be a conversation piece.”
I leave him to finish the job.
He comes to get the handsaw.
He takes the toilet seat and handsaw onto the deck.
There is sawing.
There is whistling (a good sign).
There are more “fixing sounds” coming from the bathroom.
I’m called in for an inspection.
The toilet seat fits perfectly.

Yeah, that’s my guy. How can I not love a man that not only installs, but custom fits a toilet seat?? Besides, he looks really cute in a pumpkin shirt.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

