Blogger Blah!

This is the second time I’m attempting to post this today…grrr.

So, my kitchen is now officially overhauled and I’m a happy girl. I promised pictures…

Before:
After:

There was paint flying, things were bleached, scoured and scoured again. I now know that every inch of my kitchen has been cleaned, and cleaned well. Ahh. Deep exhale.

Friday was a good day. I felt really productive with the ripping off of cupboard doors and painting and such. I love a good redo project. Chris also replaced my Digicel phone leading to another sigh of relief. My other one has already been fixed twice and my reasoning was that for the gas and time to go to Petionville to get it fixed again we could replace the phone. Sometimes you just have to throw in the towel and admit you got the lemon.

This is what $45 US (or for some Haitians, a few weeks wages, maybe a month) will get you in the third world cell phone market:


For anyone that knows Chris the next bit of info will be funny and hardly surprising. Well, maybe a little surprising in an unexpected sort of way. I think that’s what a surprise is though, so maybe I’m just being redundant. Anyway…you’ll be thrilled to know that my VW loving husband is no longer VW deprived. He has managed to find and purchase a VW truck, and it’s now sitting in our driveway. I haven’t seen much of him in the last couple days because he’s had his head stuck inside it. It’s a mission vehicle that in the long run will be very useful. Everyone here is pretty excited because they know VW’s are strong. Chris is excited because, well, because it’s a VW. I wish I would have had my camera waiting to take a picture of his Cheshire-like grin when they pulled into the yard on Friday.

A picture of Bessie (that’s what I call her even though Chris thinks it’s dumb):


Saturday was a work day around here. Not intentionally. We both just got caught up in things. I was working at getting the kitchen put back in the kitchen, rather than having it spewed all over the house. Chris spent the day playing/fixing the VW and actually made a lot of progress. It needs some parts, but most of those are probably already sitting in a garage in Seattle and just need to be shipped to Chicago for next month.

Yesterday (Sunday) we picked up Barb and went to see Gary and Carolyn, some other missionary friends of ours that work in St. Marc. It was so good to see them. We had a great visit and I felt emotionally refreshed after we left. Physically I’m not doing so hot. I’ve been a bit sick over the last few days and it dosn’t seem to be letting up. You have to be careful here when things aren’t quite right. If I was in Canada and got a stomach ache I wouldn’t be worried. Here I start thinking about all of the possibilities. Last night Chris made me a papaya shake for supper because papaya has this crazy ability of killing wierd things in your system. I don’t think it worked. I just have to keep an eye on it.

I think I’m going to lay down for a bit. Other friends of ours invited us to Wahoo Bay, a resort/beach/restraunt for the afternoon to help celebrate their son’s birthday and I want to be feeling well enough to go.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

