Issac is 5 and I Am Still Stanley

Chris is sitting here muttering gibberish to himself. Maybe it’s to me, but I don’t think so. I’m having a hard time getting going this morning. I need to start working on some presentation stuff for when we go to Chicago. I just need to tell myself that it’s fun! Ha ha.

Yesterday afternoon we went to Wahoo Bay to meet our friends Troy & Tara and their ‘tribe’ as they call them. It was Issacs 5th birthday so a little swimming and eating was in order. We had such a great afternoon. It’s so fun to have people our age around that look at life very much the same way that we do. Everyone comes to Haiti for different reasons and to do different things and I’ve learned that God brings people along when you need them, even if they are so completely different from the people that you would normally have in your life. Troy and Tara are so similar to the people that I have in my life in Canada that it’s kind of crazy, and a huge blessing. I don’t have any pictures because I was just sitting around enjoying myself. Next time I guess.

I know people have been reading, and probably wanting to comment, but for some reason Blogger Beta won’t let non-Beta users comment. Or maybe anyone for that matter. Do they not understand that I’ve been checking this thing for comments like a crazy woman??!? I think maybe I miss people or something. Don’t give up with attempting to comment though because maybe one day miraculously it’ll work. That would be so nice. Sigh.

Okay, off to try and be productive. I have many days here where I seriously wander around trying to figure out what I’m supposed to be doing. Sometimes that’s frustrating, and others I’m reminded that having to slow down is a good way of looking at other things in my life that I don’t pay enough attention to. Living here has shown me how much North American culture just “goes”. We try to do everything fast and we have really high expectations of what we should be doing. Going home is always a bit of an adjustment initially because I feel like I have whiplash. Being here has allowed me the time to stop a bit more often and look around. Maybe today is a look around day.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Issac is 5 and I Am Still Stanley

  1. I’m leaving you a comment! I’m glad that you’re updating again, I like keeping up with you guys. So I hear that Joel is getting married… does that mean that you two will be in Seattle for a couple days for the wedding? December, right? It would be so nice to see you again!

    I’m keeping busy, just going on lots of interviews for now. Two offers so far, nothing that really jumps out though. We’ll see how that goes :)

  2. Yay, love from the fam! Yes, the things you’re hearing are true. The goal is to get to Seattle for a couple of days, but we’re still waiting to find out if we’ll be able to get away for the holidays. We’ve asked someone to keep an eye on things, they just need to make sure it’ll work for them. If it all works out we’ll let you know details to plan a visit.

    Happy hunting. I know something great will come up. :)

Leave a Comment

