Whoop, Whoop On So Many Levels!

The first WHOOP AWARD of the day is going out to the lovely folks at Blogger central. They have apparently resolved the problems that made it impossible to post or leave comments between regular Blogger versions and the new Beta version. So them I say “Thank You” and to you I say “Bring on the comments” because I miss them! Whoop!

The second WHOOP AWARD of the day goes out to my husband for mowing our lawn! There’s a special kind of grass in Haiti called gazon that spreads really well and only needs to be mowed a couple of times a year. We planted big sod plugs of it back in April and today it recieved it’s first hair cut. Please don’t think we’re crazy spoiled because we have a lawn in Haiti. There are good reasons for trucking in crazy amounts of topsoil and spending several days not only throwing down sod, but watering and stomping the stuff into place. Haiti is incredibly dusty. Chris has really bad allergies. Dust + allergies = a very sick man. Grass = less dust. When it rains our yard also floods like crazy and washes away any trace of topsoil that we may have. Not good for the trees, not good for the person who has to wash the floors (me). And, it’s kind of fun to watch what some said would be an impossible task (having sun loving grass chunks grow in a fairly shady yard) become not so impossible. So whoop whoop to my super smart husband for getting the crazy idea in the first place.

Today’s third WHOOP AWARD is going out because of the amazing breeze blowing off the ocean and right through our house. It has been SO hot and muggy lately and the air has just seemed to be sitting there. I felt a slight breeze and decided to opend every single window in our house and right now we have a wind tunnel blowing through. SO NICE after a night of being awake from the stiffling heat. I’m so looking forward to the cooler dry season. We haven’t had much rain in the last couple of weeks either which puts a damper, or rather doesn’t, on things. So whoop whoop for wind!

I’m feeling pretty energetic today. Maybe it’s because it’s Friday. Maybe it’s knowing I can go get some stuff done and not be dying of heat exhaustion. I’m feeling motivated so I think I’m going to go attack the ‘to-do’ list I’ve created before something else more fun distracts me.

If you’re reading I would love it if you would leave a note since you can now. I miss hearing from people. Sometimes it feels a bit like no mans land here.

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Whoop, Whoop On So Many Levels!

  1. I now have a desktop shortcut to your blog and start each day looking for a new entry. It’s great to see that today is such a good day for you compared to yesterday. Prayer works!
    Green grass, blue skies and a lovely cooling breeze — and a loving God who knows you need those things.

  2. Hey sweetie,

    It makes me smile and cry to read your blog. Sometimes I even grit my teeth, but I always love you and pray for you.

    Is your new cell a digicel? Is the service working out as well as you’d hoped? Is your music machine still working? Do you need new books? Did you find blankets for the new bed?

    Oops, gotta go, mom needs her computer back.

Leave a Comment

