Thoughts While I Virus Scan

It’s Monday. Surprisingly I’m not cranky about that. We had a really good weekend. Saturday was another puttering day. I don’t really remember what I did, I just know that I was doing things. Chris did a bit of ‘pruning’ which really means that he took the machete to some of the bigger trees and cut back a few branches so the smaller ones would get more light. We’re very fortunate to have a lot of big trees in our yard. In a country where trees are cut down as fast as they can grow to make charcoal you really learn to cherish the big ones. It also gives us a lot of shade and makes it several degrees cooler than the temperature on the road.

Yesterday was a missionary meeting and we hosted. It was nice to see everyone and visit. I did the Bible study and talked about encouragement and some of the things that I’ve been experiencing over the last couple of months. I know that God is taking me on, or rather continuing, a journey and I’m excited about that. I know that things aren’t always going to be fun or easy, but God never promised that they would be. When I was reading through 1 Timothy 4 yesterday it was interesting to see that in the midst of his encouraging words to Timothy Paul reminded him that struggle brings hope in the things that God is going to do. It was a good reminder for me to look around and see the things that God is trying to show me in the midst of the frustrations I’ve been experiencing.

Before they left yesterday Gary and Carolyn told Chris and I that they would look after things here for us so we could go home for Christmas. There was much hugging and smiling. We’re so excited! Holidays here are so different than when I’m back in Canada. Here, in your mind you know it’s a special day, and we usually get together with the other missionaries to have a potluck for things like Easter and Thanksgiving, but it’s much mellower that what I’m used to. It’s amazing how much marketing affects that. I remember last December when I started seeing some Christmas decorations in the stores, but there wasn’t hype like there is back home. I took a few minutes to call my parents last night to let them know the good news and it was so fun to hear their excitement. The things that keep passing through my mind are things like lounging around in my pyjamas while it’s snowing outside and leisurly drinking my morning coffee and the excitement of walking into the airport to some very excited people. I’m looking forward to spending my first Christmas with Chris too and starting some of our own traditions.

I should go and do some other really productive work. Camila just arrived and she’s going to get going on the dishes and laundry for the day. She does all of our laundry by hand. Not a job I would want.

Oh yeah, I’ve been playing with the blog a bit to see if other colors would make it more readable. I think some might, but I really like the way the pictures pop with a black background (Sorry Mum). I know that if you go to each blog individually and try to read the comments there you can’t because the text is black too. I tried to fix it but I can’t. Sorry.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

