The Valley Song

You have led me to the sadness
I have carried this pain on a back bruised and nearly broken
I’m crying out to You

I will sing of Your mercy that leads me through valleys of sorrow to rivers of joy

When death like a gypsy comes to steal what I love
I will still look to the heavens, I will still seek Your face

I fear you aren’t listening, beacause there are no words
Just the stillness and the hunger for a faith that assures

I will sing of Your mercy that leads me through valleys of sorrow to rivers of joy
I will sing of Your mercy that leads me through valleys of sorrow to rivers of joy

While we wait for rescue with our eyes tightly shut
Face to the ground using our hands to cover the fatal cut
Though the pain is an ocean tossing us around, around, around
You have calmed greater waters and higher mountains have come down

I will sing of Your mercy that leads me through valleys of sorrow to rivers of joy

Sing of your mercy…

I love this song. When I was listening to it this morning I was reminded that God knows what He’s doing. In the midst of the frustration or confusion He will lead me. He is leading me. As I’m trying to figure out how to do life here there are so many things I don’t understand or know how to deal with. Some of those are very difficult. Some will never make sense. God wants me to let Him lead me through it though. From past experiences I know that God will take me through things and that it will be good. Good in the sense that I will be okay, that I will learn things and that I will grow in many ways. That knowledge brings joy. At least for me it does. And hope because I know it’s true.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

