Oh My Melting Brain

We’re basically sitting here, waiting for rain. There’s a great show of lightning right now, but I was getting too bug eaten to stay sitting outside. It’s been so hot over the last week or so that I’m about ready to have a melt down. It’s impossible to get anything done when your brain or your body won’t function from the heat. I tried this morning, honestly! I sat down and my computer, got everything opened up, typed up one page, then nothing. I was distracted so I got up and decided to clean the shower because that doesn’t require brain cells. It does however require physical something or other and it took me about three sessions of scrubbing to get the whole thing done. Ugh. I’m usually a person who carries around a schedule in my head, but when the head isn’t working it’s easy to get distracted. I often find myself saying to myself, “Okay, just finish this first, you need to finish this before you move onto that. Stop moving, FINISH!!”

We went to Port au Prince yesterday to drop off ONE piece of paper to transfer the VW truck that we just bought. Chris only goes to Port if he has to, and generally tries to do as much as possible in a day because the trip is so un-fun that you need to make it count. Yesterday wasn’t really a planned trip, but necessary because the man with the papers was flying to Canada today and we needed to get it done before he left. So, I went with Chris and we invited our friend Barb. We were out the door at 6 am on the dot and managed to get ahead of the traffic. They’ve been doing some road work and actually filling the holes. We made record time and Chris was reminicing back to the good old days when you could make the 40 or so mile trip in about an hour. We did some grocery shopping which consisted of me walking up and down every aisle of the Caribbean Supermarket partially in awe and partially overwhelmed with the fact that I could find everything I was looking for and then some. I forget that there’s really a whole different world existing in Port from what we live in. It’s such a treat to go because even though it’s a chaotic third world city, it’s still the closest thing there is to what I would call normal.

One of the best purchases we made yesterday was a ceiling fan! Whoop whoop for that one. I had mentioned that getting one in the house might be a good idea because most of the time the air just seems to sit. We live right on the ocean, but the best breeze comes in the morning, which doesn’t help much when the hottest time of the day is between 10 am and 8 pm. We were driving through Port yesterday and Chris slammed on the brakes/pulled over and announced that he had just seen ceiling fans for sale. This is the way shops work in Haiti. It may say it’s a dry cleaners, but it’s really an auto part/plumbing supply store. Part of that comes from just writing things on buildings because someone saw it in Miami, and the other part is that maybe at one point it was a dry cleaners, but then there wasn’t business for that and there was for car parts. It’s better not to try and figure these things out. Anyway, after sitting in the truck for about 15 minutes and making several cracks about Chris being kidnapped (trust me, we were only half joking) he hopped back in the truck, fan in tow. This lovely contraption is now hanging from our ceiling and all are happy. Even the dog. Jabez is amazing at finding the coolest place on the property to lay. Tonight she was on the floor right under the fan. That’s one smart dog.

I think it’s time to go hide under my mosquito net.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

