A Few Things About Today

Exciting events of the day:

1) Did some gardening and figured out how to divide ferns, then planted them into my new pots that I bought on the street in Petionville (the rich area of Port au Prince). The vendors have hundreds of them just stacked on the sidewalk. It leaves me wondering what they do with them at night when it’s time to call it a day. I think they’re beautiful and I’ve never seen anything like them anywhere other than Haiti. They’re cement with pieces of stained glass embedded in them. They were each $50 Haitian which is about $7 US. It was the first time I’d bought anything on the street/market in a long time. The whole process can be very exhausting. First you have to ask about the price. Then consider it and make a counter offer because they’re going to start out as high as possible. The seller considers whether it’s a price they want, counter offer, etc. It was so hot on Thursday, even though it was only 8:30 am, that I didn’t feel up to bartering for long, so I ended up paying full price which really isn’t that bad considering they would probably sell for about $40-50 in Canada. The ferns look a little scrawny right now, but I’m anticipating some good results over time.


2) I pre-sifted all of my flour. Why? Because it has to be sifted anyway. Yes, sometimes you find all sorts of interesting things in it. I won’t share any of the details because you may not want to eat at my house if you ever visit. Rest assured though, because we are at least sifting it.

3) I got electrocuted by the freezer. Not just a little shock like usual. One big enough to run current through my whole body and make me decide that dropping the glass oven dish I had just taken out of the fridge was better than continuing the pain. After one smashed dish and leftovers all over the floor the lesson to be learned is: remember to wear your shoes when putting a wet aluminum foil covered dish on the non-grounded freezer. Chris is going to properly ground it tomorrow morning. He’s been meaning to for a while and we’ve been telling ourselves that the shocks we’ve been getting haven’t been that bad. One crying-in-shock-after-being-shocked wife later and it’s time to do something about it.

4) We had some people stop by. Not only were all of them Canadians, they were all fellow BCers! It’s so nice to be able to tell people where I’m from, not just the nearest big city, and have them cut you off to say, “Oh, no worries, I totally know where Armstrong is!” Three cheers for the homeland! The guy that was there knows Chris from a few years ago and he and his wife are now living in the Dominican. He’s going to ask his neighbors son about getting a used motor for our Daihatsu truck. Apparently they’re really easy to find in the DR and we desperately need one or it’ll cost $6000 to fix the old motor. He also invited Chris and I to come visit his family whenever we wanted and have a small vacation. I haven’t been to the DR and we’ve talked about going, but didn’t know anyone there. It would be so nice to go and visit English speaking people our own age. It would be a great way to get away for a few days in the spring. It’s funny what blessings will walk through your door when you least expect them.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “A Few Things About Today

  1. That’s a cool pot! They’re probably rediculously hard to transport otherwise you guys could sell them here like Chris used to do with the coffee and paintings.

    Congrats on the fan!

  2. Trust me, if I could get those suckers on a plane easily you would all be getting one for Christmas because they are so cool. You could just cut out the picture and put it outside with the rest of your pots though and pretend.

Leave a Comment

