Some Thoughts On Rocks

I’m feeling a bit beat right now. I’ve got a cold to start with which has my nose running and my head stuffy. We had a teleconference board meeting last night and because of the time difference we couldn’t call until 10 pm.

We were in bed by midnight and sleeping soundly when something hit the roof. I told myself it was just a coconut and was mentally thinking about where the nearest tree is located. Just as I realized it was too far away to drop one on the roof of the house the second one hit. Then the third. They weren’t coconuts, they were rocks. Someone decided that 3am was a great time to throw rocks at our house.


Haiti is weird when it comes to maturity. People here have had to learn how to survive in harsh conditions, but they haven’t learned things like good communication skills. They don’t know how to maturly express how they are feeling. So last night someone who was upset with us for who knows what reason decided that throwing rocks at our roof was a good way to vent.

Chris got up very quietly and went upstairs to see if he could see anything from the windows up there while the rocks kept coming. They would pause for a couple of minutes and then resume, hitting a different part of the roof. The guy was moving around. Chris wasn’t able to see anything and eventually they stopped falling. I think he got bored because he wasn’t getting the reaction he anticipated. We have security lights that will light up the whole yard, and an alarm system but Chris chose not to use them last night because it would have only resulted in the guy running away before we could possibly see who it was.

I was surprised at my response to the whole thing. I stayed in our room because that’s one of the safest places to be as the rest of the house is quite open. I just sat there listening to the rocks fall and prayed that no one would get hurt because things can be unpredicatble here. I was really calm. After things got quiet Chris went out to see our guard who had been in his room looking out the window to see if he could see anything as well. They both had the same idea – if we just wait maybe whoever it is will get brave enough to come in the yard so we can see who it is. After all was said and done I had no problem falling back to sleep and wasn’t worried at all. Maybe that was just the cold medicine. Maybe I’m just acclimating and fewer things are surprising me now.

When Chris and I got up this morning we took a wander through the yard and found all of the rocks that had rolled off the roof. The guy had a good arm, I’ll give him that. One rock had hit our deck and chipped off a chunk of cement. Jerk! I like our deck.

When we went back to sleep we went through the list of reasons why someone may want to wake us up with a rock shower. Was it the son of one of our employees that had her hours cut back? Was it a fisherman coming home that couldn’t use the path through our yard that was once public access and is now blocked off? Was it the kid that got in trouble for taking water from our tap without asking that returned later to yell his anger at Chris from the drive? Was it one of the people who had gotten dependent on charging their telephone at the powerbar outside before we took it down because people we didn’t know weren’t asking to use it and being rude to us on our own property even though we were giving them something for free?

It could be any one of those options, or one that we hadn’t thought of at all. It all gets back to my first point. People haven’t learned that there are other ways to communicate their feelings. I’ve seen this in the way they interact with each other and with us. It often involves yelling and arguing over things that aren’t worth arguing about or are non-negotiable. It’s a hard adjustment to make when you come from a culture where you’ve been taught reasoning skills and problem solving that will benefit everyone.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud, this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Some Thoughts On Rocks

  1. That must have been unnerving. Could it have been the employee that Chris sent home because he wasn’t taking his job seriously the day before?
    Chris was brave (or crazy?) to go out to the guard’s quarters afterward. Haitians can be invisible in the darkness but Chris still isn’t tan enough! When I was there in 2005 the nights were so pitch dark; when all the lights went out one night it was like being in a cave.

  2. Leslie – you are so right on with the communication, or lackthereof. I find it kind of annoying when someone doesn’t understand my creole … when I KNOW I’m pronouncing everything right and I’ve already asked where they live to see if it’s because they’re from the mountains (cuz seriously, they are just a whole different kind of Haitian up there :) …. but if you yell, they always understand. Always. My dad’s theory is that they are more used to being addressed in this way. ha! Craziness. I’m glad you guys are all right. Have a fabulous Friday.
    ~Britt in La Digue

Leave a Comment

