Some Randomness for a Friday

I’m sitting here photocopying reciepts for our most recent grant accounting. I thought it was funny when one of the reciepts for a restraunt Chris had eaten at put the order in the name of ‘Christ’. Common mistake here because Jesus Christ is pronounced Jezi Chris, even though there’s a ‘t’ on the end of it. Either that or Jesus has returned, is wandering around in Haiti, and bought my husband lunch.

There have been some other random funny things this week. We seem to have aquired a few chickens. They come and go as they please, but are starting to spend more time in our yard. They’re nice chickens that just wander around eating bugs. There is a rooster in the mix and I think, like all other Haitian roosters, his alarm clock gene is disfunctional. Roosters in other parts of the world know that they’re only supposed to cock-a-doodle-doo at dawn. Haitian roosters do it all night and all day. I have had to shoo shoo the odd one out of my house on occasion, which left me feeling a bit more Haitian, though if I was Haitian I would have just let them stay.

Can you find the chicken??


Chris was working on grounding one of the sockets the othe day so there would be a significant decline in the number of household members getting shocked. While he was taking things apart he found several small, I mean tiny, eggs in the hole. Turns out they’re lizard eggs. One started to hatch while he was working, and out popped a teeny lizard. These are things that I never thought I would be okay with. My electrical sockets are incubators for lizards. Um, yeah.

A lizard egg next to our broom, just for a size comparison.
We have a lot of trees in our yard, most of them fruit trees. One of them is a Caribbean cherry tree and on Monday we noticed that the cherries had arrived, and then fell all over the ground. They’re quite tart, but Chris was able to use the two handfuls with some other things like, kowisol and bananas, to make some good juice.

Caribbean cherries.

The reciepts are done so I should go and continue to be incredibly productive. I’ve already managed to get through most of todays ‘to do’ list. Yay for me!

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Some Randomness for a Friday

  1. If the lizards hatched in the walls, atleast they might eat the giant cockroaches and millipedes that live in the walls. Balance of nature and all that —

Leave a Comment

