Thoughts From the Couch

I would like to dedicate todays post title to my friend Todd. He’ll know why. I’m also sitting on the couch while I write so it has a double meaning. I’m still feeling sick, which warranted a good sleep in today. After Yonese, the lady that comes on Saturdays and goes to the market for us, came and lists and money were given she went on her merry way. Chris and I went back to bed. I think I pulled myself out around 1:30, plugged in a DVD and hung out on the couch. Chris surfaced about 45 minutes later. For the record, Chris is usually the one up around 7:30 am on a Saturday singing the pancake and fried potatoe song, followed by harassing his wife until she gets out of bed and makes said pancakes and fried potatoes.

On the list for today, besides the usual produce (for the record, we get bigger better vegetables from St. Marc than Montrouis), was a new blender and forks and knives. I brought a good blender with me when I moved last fall that I had in my appartment, but one day in May it decided to start smoking. We replaced it when we got back with one that Yonese bought used. That one lasted two weeks. So here we are with blender #3. Our newest model features a digital display with push button selection. It’s used, but we feel very boujwa. Ha ha. The forks and knives I’m very happy about because it means that we’ll have enough for the technician training class at the end of the month so that we can all eat like civilized people. Also something that was bought used in the market and they’re better quality than the ones we had. No barbarians living in this house!

We have a technician training starting on October 30. These last for a week and are very busy. We essentially train people to start other filter projects like ours so the filters will get used and distributed more quickly. I’m trying to get as much prep done ahead of time as possible because of our Chicago trip. We leave in a week and a half and don’t get back until three days before people arrive so the last week has consisted of getting our dorms cleaned up and figuring out what we don’t have. We’re expecting a full class with 18 students. That’s a lot of sheets, chairs, cutlery, cups etc to need. I don’t want to be running around like a crazy person right after a good week away.

I think it’s time to return to being a sick person. Or to go start making dinner. Tomorrow we have a missionary meeting, then from there we’re going to head to Port au Prince to spend the night with friends. They’re boujwa Haitians, which mean they’re part of the countries upper class. Chris got to know them because they own the beach house two doors down from us. They have helped him/us/mission out many times and have become good friends. I love the emphasis that Haitians put on relationships here. It’s sometimes weird to spend time with them because of the class thing. Haiti doesn’t have a middle class, just people that don’t have money, and people that do. We work with the ones that don’t every day so when we spend time with the ones that do there’s a big contrast. Some people would probably argue that we’re selling out, but for me it gives me perspective. The upper and lower class are Haiti, not one or the other. Being with our friends reminds me about the stark contrast and the importance of what we’re doing. The upper class still have bad water to drink, they just have more money to find a solution.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud, this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Thoughts From the Couch

  1. Leslie,
    It’s great to catch up on your blogs, I liked the one of the rocks on the roof. Del and I had a similar experience in Easterville Manitoba a number of years ago. We had just arrived as summer workers with the Northern Canada Evangelical Mission and were sound asleep in our camper when some young guys started to rock the camper. It was rather unerving when you are in an isolated location. Del was never comfortable in Easterville for the rest of the summer.
    Doug

Leave a Comment

