Toque Heads Unite!

I’m feeling kind of giddy right now. I got word this morning that Chicago has been cold. And Buffalo, New York was hit with a freak snow storm.

This is exciting news because I have been sweating for the last two and a half months. On Tuesday morning I will gladly throw on my jeans and pack a sweater. I am excited about the prospect of being cold. I want to have to wear layers of clothes.

Some of you are probably thinking, “Crazy woman, you get to live in the Caribbean!” Yes I do. Trust me though, after a while the novelty wears off. I miss being able to wear clothing without having to change it two or three times a day because it’s wet. I miss being able to cook without worrying that the sweat running down my nose is heading for the food. I miss wanting a HOT shower. I miss sleeping with sheets and down blankets, rather than three fans.

Consider what changing seasons provide. They give a sense of time passing. A sense of newness. Of change. When it’s always sunny, and the days are always approximately the same length, and the weather is generally the same with the only choice being rain or no rain, it makes it hard to realize that there is life beyond what I live in every day here. I loved living where I did in Canada because we have four very distinct seasons and each one always got me excited. Spring meant the garden was going to start growing and my mom’s hard work would start blooming. Summer meant hot days and that lazy feeling that comes with them. Fall brings the beautiful change in the leaves and that first nip of cold. The first snow fall, no matter how light, always warrants a bit of excitement and talk of Christmas coming. The first major snow fall brings a sense of calm and quiet and seems to make people slow down. Here in Haiti the first rains of the rainy season bring excitment. Knowing that they’re ending brings whining and crankiness because we know the next 6 months will just be dusty – cooler, but dusty.

So, next week this Canadian girl will sport her down vest, jeans, sweaters, socks and shoes with pride! Oh yeah, my scarf and mittens too if necessary. Don’t worry, I won’t start counting the days before we go to Canada until after we come back.

This entry was posted in travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

