Good Times in Chicago

Right now I’m sitting in our friend’s kitchen in jeans and a sweater and we were just discussing the fact that there was frost last night. Woo hoo!

The trip here was good, once we got to the airport. We got a later start than we wanted to and remembered that it was Desalines Day as we were loading up the truck. It’s a national holiday to celebrate the death of Jean Jaques Desalines. This meant getting pulled over twice to wait for about 15-20 minutes to wait for the ridiculous brigade of SUV’s that were apparently trasporting every important person in Haiti to Desalines for the celebrations. The second time we got stopped was because the president was coming. Heaven forbid that person who didn’t have 20 guards with machine guns in their entrourage would be on the road at that time.

I love the Chicago area so far. We arrived after 8 pm, so by the time we got out to Glen Ellyn it was pretty dark, but driving around the next day let me see what a beautiful area it is. I saw the Billy Graham Center and Wheaton College. On Wednesday night Barb and Paul took Chris and I into the city to the Italian Village which is Chicago’s oldest Italian restraunt. It’s a very cool little place and the food was great. After that Barb and I braved the wind and rain so she could take me to my surprise for the day which ended up being a musical at the Oriental theater. What an experience. The show was nothing short of amazing and I found myself grinning from ear to ear the whole time. The inside of the theater would have been enough for me. It’s absolutely beautiful with so much to look at. It was almost overwhelming.

Yesterday was an errand day. We got most of the tools and things on Chris’ list. We’ve basically resigned ourselves to paying for an extra bag going back because we know we’re going to be very overweight otherwise. When you have to take things like threaded rod and a skill saw it can get a bit weighty. My most exciting shopping experience of the day was a visit to Old Navy where I walked out of the store with 8 items of clothing for Chris and I having only paid $8.32 for the lot. There are advantages to shopping for summer clothes in October. I paid no more than $0.97 for each item. Yes, you can call me the shopping queen.

Chris and I are heading out to Milwauke today to visit one of his friends for the night. I’m looking forward to seeing a new place and having some new adventures.

This entry was posted in travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

