Back In the Saddle

Chris and I have been back in the country since Thursday. It feels good to be back home. I realized when we got back that all of the work and frustration and difficulties that we’ve had over the last few months with some of the changes that we made have been worth it. We came home to a sense of peace. There were no major problems while were were away for the first time ever with the exception of our boat sinking. Well almost completely sinking. Jean Renaud and the other workers were able to rescue it and do some patching.

Our time in Chicago was good. We did and saw a lot of interesting and fun things. I know now that this is a city that I want to visit again. I think it’s the type of place that you could be in a long time and never get bored with. There’s so much to do and see. Lots of character. And I love the sense of history that you see in the architecture.

While in Chicago we had a chance to meet with a sponsoring Rotary club. It was cool to find out that most of them are reading my blog. So, Hello Rotarians! I don’t have a lot of people that comment so it’s hard to know just how many people are checking this thing out. It’s nice to know that some people think our life is exciting enough to read regularly :) We also spoke at our friend’s church, also a sponsor of the mission. That was such and encouraging experience for us. I miss my home church a lot, especially the people there. The people at DuPage Vineyard are fantastic! They were so welcoming and encouraging. Thanks everyone for a great visit.

This week is a prep week for the two weeks of classes that we have coming up. We were only planning on one week of technician training, but we’ve had so much interest that we needed to add another one immediately following to accommodate everyone. Each class can hold a maximum of 18 people, so between the two we have 26 people registered. That’s 26 new potential filter technicians that could be starting up new projects around the country, meaning more filters to people faster than we could produce-distribute-install-educate. A week and a half after the second class Chris’ parents arrive for a visit, and 8 days after they leave we head home to Canada for Christmas with my family. If we would have waited for the second class we wouldn’t be able to do it until February.

I’m excited about the amount of interest that we’ve had recently in training. That was the original purpose of Clean Water for Haiti, to act as a training organization. We had shifted our focus slightly to doing filter projects primarily in the last year and a half, but we decided this fall that we wanted to get back to our roots and get more people trained. After making that decision, not one that Chris and I had really shared with people, I started getting all sorts of emails from people/organizations that are interested in getting people trained. I like the way God works and how he reminds us that we’re on the right track when we’re just trying to make the best decisions for the mission.

Today was the Daylight Savings switch which means it’ll be about a week before everyone in the country is on the same time schedule again. Wednesday and Thursday are also national holidays so it should make for an interesting week. For now though, I’m going to go and enjoy the rest of the day. It’s one of my favorite types of day here – the kind where it’s overcast and cool and the possibility of rain is great, but even if it doesn’t hanging out is just good.

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

