Dezaud!

The most fitting word in the Creole language for my state of being right now is dezaud. I have no idea if that’s even how you spell it. It means chaos/disorder/a mess.

As of tomorrow we will have two weeks of training classes. This means 18 people here next week and 8 the week after. There will be excessive amounts of rice and beans consumed. In fact, I bought the sack of rice on Tuesday. We buy bags of rice in Canada. Haitians buy sacks. Same with beans. Because this last week was a holiday week it kind of threw a wrench in the wheel of preparations. We wanted to be able to take a day or two off like everyone else, but there’s always stuff to do. Yesterday Chris and I had to put all the training manuals together. Eventually he went to catch up on the dishes that seemed to have migrated to our house while I finished the little monsters up. Yeah, hole punching at 9 pm = not much fun. I looked around my house tonight and felt nothing but chaos. While Chris was helping Diana get packed and organized (she’s leaving tomorrow rather than next weekend because of the malaria) I attacked my laundry and kitchen a bit. I’m realizing that I’m one of those people that needs to have a bit of order to provide calm and a sense of…well, anything that may help with stress. Let’s call it ‘breathing space’.

So there you have it. My floors are messy, my bathroom sink is scummy, and I just barely remembered to feed the dog tonight. Welcome to missionary life. I’m going to go crawl in bed and try to get a good nights sleep before tomorrow. Like Chris described to me earlier…”I feel like I haven’t slept in two days.” Not true, but it sure feels like it.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Dezaud!

  1. dezòd, I think.

    unless they changed the rules since I was there, there are two “o” spellings:

    “bato”/”boat” = o
    “senbòl”/”symbol” = ò

Leave a Comment

