Gobble Gobble #2


It’s presently 9:32 am and the waft of cooking turkey is tickling my nose. Yes, American Thanksgiving has come to Pierre Payen. Not to worry Canadians, we had a yummy roast chicken to celebrate that day too with some Canadian friends. The turkey is courtesy of Agape Mail and was given to all the missionaries that use the service. We don’t, but some of the missionaries in our Bible study group do, and they’re all coming over for dinner in about 4 hours and since we’re hosting it made sense to cook the turkey here.

Mom, I believe I have done you proud. The 14.5 pounds of turkey has been washed, laid to rest in a nicely sized pan, and then stuffed to the brim with perfectly seasoned stuffing made as per family stuffing regulations. Chris has already wandered in several times commenting on the wonderful smells from the kitchen. This whole process started at 6:30 this morning so every pound could get it’s 22 minutes. The only missing ingredients are family and George (my Canadian dog) walking around with her nose sniffing at the oven. Jabez hasn’t ever had turkey before so I don’t think she realizes what a treat it is. She may have to have a bone or two today.

So yes, this is Thanksgiving in Haiti. It’s mostly making me miss my family, but that’s okay because I know I’ll see them in 24 days. And Chris’ parents will be here next week. Today will be a day spent with friends.

I need to go prep potatoes and wipe down my newly finished tables – both of which have received praise from my husband in regards to design and strength. I believe there was even a comment about how cool it was that our workers got to watch me make tables with power tools that turned out the way they did. Not something most Haitian women, if any, would ever do.

Love and hugs to everyone. For those Americans in the crowd, Happy Turkey day!

This entry was posted in holidays by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

