On Missing Things

The gang’s all here…turkey, stuffing, white bread that hasn’t been squished out of shape, mustard and mayo. The makings of one really good ‘turkey leftovers’ sandwich. Mmmmm.

Dinner was great. The bird came out of the oven and quickly shed it’s legs and wings when I moved it onto the cutting board. Good sign of perfect doneness if you ask this chef. The potatoes were mashed to greatness and the stuffing was plentiful. The gravy was pretty tasty too. Everyone else brought the bounty with them as well and we had enough food to feed the UN. There was much groaning and a needed break between dinner and dessert.

Clean up was relatively easy and now we’re sitting here being nerds – a.k.a we’re hanging out in front of our computers, again.

This whole Thanksgiving thing has been doing weird things to me today. Canadian Thanksgiving came and went, we celebrated, and it was nice to be with friends. BUT, I had to remind myself that it was coming. American Thanksgiving is a bigger deal here because there are a lot of missionaries from the US. I think having the turkey in the house, and preparing it the way my mom has spent years teaching me started the ball rolling. Pulling my first ever solo attempt out of the oven and realizing that I had done it and that Mom would be REALLY proud of me ( I mean, we’re Ukrainian and being female and able to cook for people is almost mandatory) was a great feeling. The sad and hard thing though was that she wasn’t here to experience it with me. I was talking to her on MSN after everyone left and I found myself close to tears. I think it was the whole experience of having everyone here, the food and not having my family around. And seeing things that I know are going to make Christmas that much better. Things like Chris coming into the kitchen and saying, “Um, I need to taste test something!” then getting a small bit of turkey. Of course he came back about 5 times to say, “I think I need to taste test something else! Maybe something with skin…” Carving the turkey is a family event in our house where everyone is picking at the thing while Dad goes at it with a knife. The dog even sits there waiting for those random pieces that just miraculously seem to fly off the counter. I decided that Jabez should have her first taste of turkey so she got the neck and all the good parts. I’m sure we’ll be paying for that one later…

So here I sit in shorts and a tank top, full tummy and missing my family. I won’t tell you what Chris is doing right now because I might get tortured if I do (wink, wink).

Oh yeah! I think we got a bit of Thanksgiving blessing today – it started raining while we were eating dinner out on the patio! We were sooo excited because the rainy season is OVER. It was such a treat. It’s been overcast for the last few days which isn’t the norm, but rain? The latest news from the weather man (Chris walked over and opened the door) is that we have a light drizzle coming down. I think it’s time to take a cold shower, because that’s the only option, and curl up in pajama pants.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

