A Little Noel Is In The Air

Okay, call me lame if you want to…I don’t care! I’m currently tuned into the Christmas station on my online radio! Whoop whoop! I am getting flat out giddy for Christmas and everything that this year is going to hold. Thanksgiving is over, and tropics or not, Christmas is on the way and it’s one of my FAVORITE times of the year. Not because of the presents and all that but because of how it feels. My Mom loves Christmas and our house is always decorated up, good things are baked and the snow brings that quiet cozy feeling. It’s a time where we kind of calm down and just enjoy being together. We’ve had years where I’ve been out of province for college and coming home was a big deal. There was a year where my Dad and brother had been working out of the area for months on end without a visit so Christmas was a big deal that year too. I remember walking off the plane last year on my way home from Haiti via a 5 day visit in Vancouver, WA where I met my future in-laws (yes, at dinner one night that thought ran through my head), and having to hold my self back from running down the walk way to hug my parents.

I called home on Saturday night and used up all 640 gourdes on my phone, but it was SO great to talk to my Mom. She was telling me about my Dad putting up Christmas lights outside and I was laughing so hard because I could see the whole thing in my head. It made me miss them even more, but knowing that I’ll get to hug all of them in exactly 20 days will keep me giddy until then.

My Christmas season and the festive fun, as far as I’m concerned, starts tomorrow. Chris’ parents are arriving on the 3:55 pm flight for a week and a half long visit. Chris will go in with Jean to do some other errands then head to the airport to find them. I’m staying at home to get stuff cleaned and ready for their arrival. I am SO excited that I’m feeling giddy inside. Chris and I have been working at clearing our calendar for the week to have as much time available to enjoy them. I don’t care if we do nothing but sit around drinking coffee on the deck, I just want to be with them. This has been the longest stretch that I’ve gone without seeing family and I’m really starting to feel it so being loved on is going to be so great. I’m ready for hugs and games of Scrabble and laughing. BRING IT ON!

The day before Mum and Dad leave we’re going to head into Port and have a day of fun shopping (not the kind where you have to run errands all over the place) and then find a place to stay for the night, and dinner out. The next morning we’ll take them to the airport and head back. We’ll have 8 days to get things ready for our departure. We’ll be flying into Seattle and will get to spend 3 days with our friends Joel and Trina. While with them we’ll be taking a trip to Snoqualmie Lake Falls for two nights and will get to be there as they say their wedding vows. We feel so completely honored that they planned their wedding around our arrival. Chris and Joel have been best friends for years and when I’m around them I’m reminded what loyalty and friendship look like and I feel very blessed that I’ve gotten to adopt Joel as my friend too. Him and Trina are really special people that have blessed us so much in the short time that we’ve been married and we know they are the kind of friends we’ll have for life. I can’t think of a better way to start our Christmas vacation than by being surrounded by the love of good friends and being there to share the start of their married life together. It just makes me feel all warm and mushy inside :)

We’ll be driving from Seattle to Armstrong. We figure that if we leave right from the hotel it should take us about 6 hours and we should arrive just in time for dinner at my Mom and Dads. This means my Dad and brother will still be home. We always put our Christmas tree up the weekend closest to the 15th of December which just happens to be the weekend we’re arriving so after dinner the tree will be decorated. I wasn’t home for this last year (but got to decorate the tree at Chris’ house) so I’m excited about that too. I’m looking forward to the feeling in our house at Christmas. It’s always warm and cozy and full of love. I’m looking forward to sharing my husband with my family too because they really haven’t gotten to spend much time with him, and when they have it’s always been around other busy things, like the wedding. It’s going to be so nice to just be together. It’s going to be great for Chris and I to have a holiday too without having a bunch of stuff that we have to do, just stuff we want to do.

So Happy Day Before the First Day of My Christmas Season to you!

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

