Some More Tid Bits

I had a bit of excitement today! Chris came in the house to tell me that my pumpkin seeds have come up in the garden. I planted a bunch of seeds last Tuesday or something like that, and today they sprung up like seeds on steroids. They weren’t there yesterday, and today the sprouts are about 2″ tall! We thinned them out a bit. I have four mounds and about 5-6 plants in each mound now. Those will get thinned out eventually, but I’m hoping to have one or two good plants growing from each mound. This is my first ‘from seed’ success story so I’m pretty happy. I figure that they should be fine while we’re gone for the holidays and then we’ll have plenty of pumpkins when we come back. Some to give away, and some to cook and freeze to use whenever I feel like baking.

Another bit of excitement is that my construction project is now finished. My tables were all put together in time for dinner last Thursday, BUT, I misjudged the height, so we were all basically scooping our food into our mouths. It was kind of funny. The following day I took the tops off and cut the base down a couple of inches on each one and reattached the top again. A good top coat of paint and voila! I was so excited that I decided to go one step further and use some more scraps to make benches to go with one of the tables. The set is now living on our patio and I’m happy to have a place to sit and work out there if I want to.

I still haven’t sat at my new table because I wanted to let the paint dry really well. It generally takes a few days. Well, today was supposed to be the ‘first sit’ day, but we just had RAIN! This is the second time in 5 days that it’s rained in the middle of the afternoon. So bizarre, but very exciting and very welcome here. We decided to make hot chocolate for our staff because they were all working outside. There was a little more mocking of me again and my excitement about the holidays. Chris told me that he would start thinking about Christmas when we got on a plane and left the country because Haiti doesn’t really celebrate Christmas. True, but as I told him, Christmas is less than a month away, it’s my favorite time of year and I don’t feel like I have to minimize that and not let myself be excited just because we’re living and working here. This is the place that we live and work in, but I’m still Canadian and I refuse to let go of the things that make me who I am just because it’s not cultural. Not to mention the fact that if we lived in Florida it would look just the same as here. This is just a place. In the end he agreed with me, and just for the record, he was walking around singing “Walking in a Winter Wonderland” a few minutes later. Tee hee.

I thought you would like to see some pictures of really good looking people :) Chris is standing next to our most recent bunch of bananas. They’re a different variety that need to completely ripen before you can eat them or they’re bitter. Kind of weird. So far that’s three different varieties of bananas in our garden. Lodissa, our guard, says that all we have growing is papayas and bananas. Oh, and now pumpkins! Whoop whoop!

This other cute ensemble is Jabez and I after Chris plopped her on my lap. She doesn’t know she’s a full grown dog! She also has this knack for knowing exactly when it’s the wrong time to come in the house, like right after it’s rained…if your feet are so muddy that you slip on the tile floors, that is NOT a good time to come in and walk all over the WHITE floors, or shake yourself dry. Seriously, if anyone knows how to train a dog to wipe their feet, or mop a house, let me know because we need to talk!

Oh yeah, just because I know you want to know…My mom said they’ve had at least a foot of snow in the last 24 hours and it’s still snowing. I checked out the 10 day forecast and they’re in for COLD and snow. Looks like we’ll be having white Christmas! Whoop whoop!

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Some More Tid Bits

  1. Believe it or not, we have 8-10″ of snow here in Victoria, with wind chill of -19C overnight, they say. Everyone’s freaking out. I have a nice warm fire going and my Christmas CD playing; very pleasant. The local news had video of multiple people shoveling snow or walking around in shorts(!), demonstrating once again that snow drives Victorians utterly insane.

    Great pictures! Your table looks fabulous & stylin.

Leave a Comment

