A Porpise for You, a Porpise for Me…

Yesterday I had one of the coolest experiences of my life. My friend Leslie and I were out fishing with our neighbor, and as we started to head out into deeper water off in the distance we saw black fins rising up out of the water. They were dolphins! Chris told me that he’s seen them before, but I hadn’t any of the times I’d been out. A little while later we saw a few more.

After trying to fish the weed line for a bit we decided to pull up the lines and go somewhere else. As we were heading towards the new location we saw some more fins, and this time they were right where we were heading. I thought they might go away when they heard the boat coming, but they didn’t and we soon found ourselves with about 5 dolphins swimming right along side the boat. I was sitting right on the front with my feet hanging over the edge and they were right underneath me!

After about a minute we were joined by about 5 more dolphins, and we started seeing more fins popping up in front of us. Within another minute or so we were surrounded by a pod of about 40-50 of them! It was so AMAZING! I was trying to get the video I took on here but I can’t get it to work so pictures will have to do…



That’s my foot in the picture. What a cool experience. I wish I could describe it better but I really can’t. It was just so cool to see, in the wild, how friendly and fun they really are. There were even babies that were no longer than 3 feet! Once we were right in the middle of them we made the boat go a bit faster and they started jumping out of the water and showing off. I was almost in tears because it was so cool.

Other weekend news…we have a cold running through our house right now. I guess it’s good that it’s coming now and not on Friday once we start holidays, which seems to be the norm. Chris got hit with it Saturday and has been in bed for the last two days with a fever. He’s coming out of it now and will hopefully be back to normal in a day or so. I’m starting to feel a bit of it but have been trying to take preventative measures, one of which is going to be laying down for a little while starting in about 5 minutes…

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “A Porpise for You, a Porpise for Me…

Leave a Comment

