Random Thoughts for a Monday

My head is kind of reeling right now. We’re two and a half days away from leaving and I have lists written, or at least started in my head. There’s a house to clean and things to pack. Chris is on the mend which I’m really grateful for because it means he may have his first healthy Christmas in years. He has this thing where he tends to get sick when he goes back to North American.

I was talking to my Mom a little while ago on MSN and she was telling me about all of the stuff she did this past weekend to get ready for our arrival. She actually took a day off of work so she could get a bunch of stuff done so she didn’t feel stressed out and was able to spend more time with us when we get there. That’s LOVE! It really is because I know that she’s doing all of this because she not only wants us to have a great Christmas with them, but also a really memorable first Christmas as married people. Last year I was with Chris’ family for a few days before Christmas, and I saw him on New Years, but this will be our first Christmas together and I can’t wait.

Chocolate is another good thing and I’m really grateful right now for that really big bar that Mum and Dad brought with them. I’ve managed to get a batch of chocolate chip cookies out of it, and there’s still plenty left for munching. Mmmm. An offical shout out to the people at Trader Joe’s for knowing about qual-i-tay!

Jean, one of our workers, made a quick trip into Port today to pick up the new motor for our Daihatsu from customs and take it to the mechanic where our truck has been sitting for the last 4 1/2 months. We are so HAPPY to be getting the thing fixed. Our KIA is ALWAYS (no over exaggeration there) breaking down so it’ll be nice to have more than one vehicle around.

Okay, time to write more lists and see what I can attack this evening!

This entry was posted in thinking out loud by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

