December 22 With A Coffee Cup

I was just reading my friends blog and was reminded again of the vast differences between my two lives. Yeah, I feel like I live two different lives most days. There is the life in Haiti and the Canadian part of me that still feels very at home with things in the first world. The people that are a part of my life there only know that life of mine, and the people in Haiti only know that one.

The life here is nice to be back in. I was really looking forward to getting here, spending time with my family and celebrating my first Christmas with Chris. It’s been so nice to just enjoy people. My brother moved out several months ago, but has been over every chance he gets to just hang out and be with us. My mom and I are going to do that last bit of Christmas shopping today and just spend some good time together. We’ve visited with the grandparents and some close friends. It’s been calm and cozy and wonderful.

One of my highlights so far actually happened last night. Chris has been bugging me to go sledding since we got here, so last night we made plans to go up to the local elementary school because they have a big hill that every kid within a 3 or 4 kilometer radius has slid down at some point in their life. We found my brother’s GT Snowracer, loaded it in the trunk of the car and went on our merry way. As I watched Chris go down the hill the first time it was actually what I heard that caught me off guard. He was genuinely laughing with joy! In that moment I realized that we were doing something that what really special to him, but something I had taken for granted because every winter we have snow. Chris grew up in Richmond, BC, down on the west coast, where if they get snow it’s only usually a couple of inches and it lasts for a day or two.

I was reminded last night of all the moments that life throws at you and that it’s our response to them that counts. I wasn’t really enthusiastic about sledding, but I was given such a huge gift in seeing Chris’ enthusiasm and joy. I got to see a different side of my husband and we did something that we won’t ever be able to repeat. I was laying in bed last night and started thinking about all the things that I’m most looking forward to about Christmas. There were a few things that very quickly found their way to the top of the list. Being with Chris and experiencing more of those special “firsts” as a couple was probably at the top. Having my family around and seeing how much they love us by the fact that they’re so excited about every moment we get together. And gifts. Not looking forward to what I receive, but more so to how people will respond to what I’m giving.

I’m going to go pour a cup of coffee, and scan the flyers to see if I can find a coffee maker-toaster-alarm clock that will tie my shoes. I think there was one advertised at Walmart for only $149.99! The hard part will be deciding whether I want black, stainless steel, red or Kermit green. Or maybe I’ll go with the tie-dye one because it would go with everything!

This entry was posted in thinking out loud, travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

