Christmas Happenings

There’s about a foot of snow sitting on the neighbors roof as I’m writing. It’s about 8:30 am and because we’re a bit more north it’s only been light for about an hour, but it was a pink light this morning which was kind of cool. The thermometer outside my parents kitchen window says it’s about -13 C right now. I love it! It’s been so nice to not be sweating, to be able to wear the same clothes all day long, and to wear sweaters and pajama pants.

We had a good Christmas. It was quiet with just my family and grandparents. There were lots of gifts which was a bit overwhelming when we looked under the tree and thought about the contrasts between here and Haiti, but when all was said and done it was a lot of little things from my parents and mom just wanted to have more fun with the wrapping paper. George, our dog, had fun and eventually decided that it was best to lay on the top of the couch so she wouldn’t get lost in the bows and boxes. It was interesting to be out and about before Christmas and to just watch the world go by. Chris decided that being married was great for him because all of his Christmas shopping miraculously got done for him with the exception of what he got for me, and I actually enjoyed doing the shopping. I took one day and only ended up going to a few stores. I decided I would just take my time and had fun wandering around, unlike most of the frantic, dazed people that I saw doing their last minute cram. There really are some things in life that just aren’t worth the energy.

While we headed to the Christmas Eve service at my church I couldn’t help but notice how many cars were still in the parking lot at the mall at 3pm. It was crazy and it made me wonder how much we’ve done to promote that. I remember when I was younger (enter the old man “back in my day” voice) and stores were closed at 5:30 pm every day and no one worked on Sundays. Now stores are open as long as possible. Superstore, a big box store that sells everything from groceries to stationary to clothing and books was open until 11 pm on the 22nd and 23rd! I think we’ve gone a bit too far with the convenience thing and that we’re teaching people that it’s okay to not plan ahead. If you need to be doing Christmas shopping at 10:30 pm on December 23rd then I think that you are too busy! Or at least you think you’re too busy. Christmas comes on the same day every year, so it’s not like it sneaks up on you! Sorry if this offends anyone who was doing their Christmas shopping at 10:30 pm on the 23rd. I guess living in Haiti where nothing seems to be open when you want it to be and if it is, the chances of finding what you want are slim has changed my perspective on convenience. I think too often now we tell ourselves that we can do it later so we put things off because we know we can, and then we spin into a crisis if we don’t have access to what we think we need right away. I wonder what would happen to our culture if we started planning things around spending more of our time with family and friends and less of it around doing the things at the last minute. Okay, ending that rant.

Back to our scheduled program…

We’ve enjoyed doing things like walking around town. I know that sounds simple, but it’s been so nice! I love being able to walk, talk with my husband, and not have people staring at me saying, “Look, their walking!” and “Are you walking??” where we would then have to respond with, “Yes, we are,” or we would be considered very rude white people.

Today we have to go to Kelowna to pick up our friend Barb who is coming for a board meeting. Tonight is a board potluck, then tomorrow an all day board meeting. Sunday is back to the airport with Barb and then trying to find something exciting to do for New Years. I don’t think I’ll be blogging before we get back next week, so Happy New year!

This entry was posted in travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

