Back to Our Norm

We are home and all is quiet on the Caribbean front!

We arrived on Wednesday and were so happy to be through customs and find all of our luggage sitting there waiting to be put on our cart. I also noticed that there was a bit more respect, and less harassment than normal which was a nice change. Things felt more like home when we started driving, like they were the norm now and nothing really stood out as strange. That was a bit surprising.

Coming home felt good in the sense that it felt like home. It’s easy to feel a little displaced sometimes with being Canadian, and living here and so on. Chris and I both realized that this is home for us and there were things we missed, like our own bed and house. We’ve got most of our stuff unpacked and just need to finish putting away a few things.

I’m kind of feeling at a blogging loss. It’s not that I don’t think about things to write about – I have been. In fact there have been several times in the last few days where I’ve thought, “Hey, I should blog about that.” But, I haven’t, and now that I’m sitting here my brain is sort of in mush mode. That and there’s part of me that wants to spend less time in front of a computer and more time doing things that are good for me and enjoyable. Not that blogging isn’t, it can just become really time consuming.

Sooo, that said here’s the nutshell of things in my brain:

  • I feel grateful for coming back to find the house still standing and that there was nothing crazy that happened while we were gone.
  • The last two days of quiet have been so nice and great to adjust to being back.
  • I’m understanding more Creole…I think.
  • I love having friends and family back home to look forward to seeing.
  • I like our house here and that it feels like home for us now, not just this place that we live in.
  • I’m excited about ministry this year because I feel big things are going to be happening. We’ve got funding to cover our work for a good part of the year, and to cover paying off the loans from the property purchase much sooner than we anticipated.
  • I love my husband and his patience and love for me and his sense of humour. All of those things are such great gifts to me that I can very easily take for granted.
  • I’m looking forward to having more visitors this year (hopefully) so that we can stop talking and have them see for themselves what life is like for us

I think that’s it for now. Our fridge is being fixed and there are very few things in the kitchen that could be combined to make a meal. Thank goodness tomorrow is market day! Maybe I can convince my husband to go get take out chicken tonight…

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

