My Five Things

I was tagged by our friend Tara in their blog (http://livesayhaiti.blogspot.com -link on the side) to tell everyone 5 things they don’t know about me, but didn’t know about it until we got over there for burgers this afternoon, which was kind of funny because usually the first thing I do in the morning after doctoring my coffee and checking my email is to read their blog. It’s this thing we have going on. Tara and I blog-stalk each other so that we can keep up to date on the goings on of each others lives. You would think that we would see each other more often because we only live about 45 minutes apart (that’s in Chris time), but in Haiti everything happens at a m-u-c-h-s-l-o-w-e-r-p-a-c-e, and we’ve gone for months without a visit. I learned today that random picture postings of Chris tend to catch Troy’s attention so maybe more of those will have to go up. Chris doesn’t read my blog so pretty much I could do anything I wanted and he wouldn’t know for the next, well, maybe year or so.

Okay, moving on…my 5 things:

  • Three of my front teeth are only half real thanks to a silly Tarzan rope accident. I would like to thank the lovely people at Dr. Laidlaw’s office for providing me with such a lovely smile :)
  • My second toes are longer than my big toes. I’ve read that a study was done and they found this was a sign of higher intelligence. My brother insists that they’re mutated.
  • I have a hard time being in a room full of people I don’t know and generally feel quite uncomfortable and have a lack of words. I can sometimes pull off the gift of shmooze but it takes a while to get there. I would rather hang out with a few people at a time.
  • I can flare my nostrils.
  • I hardly ever polished my toenails before I moved to Haiti. Now they’re polished all the time so that I don’t feel like a complete grub all the time. Actually, come to think of it, being here makes me want to be more girlie I think.

That’s me.

I tag Mum R, Steph Geiger, Liz R, Katy J (only 12 days!!), and Todd C if he’s reading. You can leave your 5 in the Comment section. Anyone else can play along too!

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “My Five Things

  1. Only 12 Days and I’m filling out a blog. Work avoidance at it’s finest… (Wouldn’t you avoid 55 non-mail merged but nearly identical letters too? Whee fun!)

    I’m not sure who knows these things and who doesn’t but here goes

    1) I usually have about 5 different books and 3 different craft projects going at once. Not literally though, I unfortunately am not a rare octopus-human hybrid.

    2) I have only ever broken 100 in bowling once. And for each strike I usually get two gutter balls.

    3) Egg nog is probably my favorite drink ever. Fortunately, along with pumpkin pie, it usually becomes readily available right around my birthday!

    4) I work in a yurt! So Leslie, you and I spend our days in round buildings. :-)

    5) I can wiggle my ears, cross one eye, and make great fish lips, but I cannot roll my “R”s or juggle. These are vital life skills, and I am sorely lacking.

  2. Hi Les!
    My Five things:
    1. I have triplet toes my second third and forth toes are all the same size.
    2. I have a blog but I haven’t told anyone. So be my guess and read it.
    3. I’m scared of really big dogs. Thats why I own a minature Dashond named Oscar.
    4. I would really love to go back to school and get my LPN course.
    5. This is hard um… Ok I hate picking up after my husband. He has two hands why can’t he pick things up with them.

Leave a Comment

