Sweat-er Weather

Today is the first actual work day since we’ve gotten back. It was really dark this morning when the alarm went off and part of me was wondering if we’d be able to sneak a few extra minutes in now, but no, our guys were all here and starting work at 6 am even though it wasn’t exactly light out.

This is that really great time of the year where you can actually get away with wearing warmer clothes. I had to go grab a sweater thingy because I was sitting here shivering, and it still doesn’t feel like enough. The sad thing is that in a few hours it’ll be too hot to even consider putting anything on.

The weekend was good and relaxing. On Saturday afternoon we headed out to La Digue to visit our friends and had a good time. Here’s some pics from then…

Chris & Troy hangin’ out in the kitchen…

Noah, Issac and Hope with their Haiti Christmas tree.

Chris looking for a nasty smell in the Livesay’s kitchen (aka – doing rodent patrol). Yes, this is what missionaries do for fun when they get together.

I’m almost afraid to say this because it feels like it’ll jinx things AND give people a false impression of things here, but things do feel calmer right now. People seem more content and less aggressive. I’m wondering how much that has to do with just having had the Christmas and New Years holidays (New Years is the bigger one) and the influx of money that comes into the country from family in Canada and the US at this time of the year. There is literally a building boom in Haiti every January. Driving around a bit I’ve noticed buildings with new coats of paint and new construction going up in various places. I’ve also seen things like a new little rest place on the side of the road. People in the community have gotten boards and paint and built some benches and a slap together table with a little barrier around it for people sit and visit. I was happy to see that because it means that people have pooled their resources to do something for their community.

I also did a bit of gardening on Saturday and moved some plants around, attempted to start rooting some more hibiscus and made a new flower bed by our back door. We get a lot of mud tracked in the house because of the water tap out there so I’m hoping that having the bed there will make people walk around and I’ll have to sweep a bit less. In the picture there are flowers planted by the bell pole, BUT our guard over watered them and I’m wondering if they’ll even survive.


This week we’ll be catching up on stuff, though really there isn’t much to catch up on which is such a great feeling. THEN, on Sunday we get on a plane again to go to an a bit of an adventure, but I don’t think I want to spill the beans just yet. Just know that it’s an incredible treat for us and not something we’ll probably ever get to do again in our life time. Well, maybe not.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Sweat-er Weather

  1. It looks like Chris has a chicken growing out of his head.

    The photo I took of you two love-birds at the table ended up with closed eyes … so the only photo I got of Chris was of his back-side searching for a rodent.

    Have a good week.

Leave a Comment

