Blogging = Procrastinating!

It’s true. For instance, right now I should be vacuuming my walls, but I’m sitting here typing and watching the sprinkler water the lawn. I’m just not feeling overly motivated to do the whole vacuuming thing. It’s not like it’s hard, and I know I will do it today, just not right now.

This morning was cold and dark. It’s so hard to crawl out of bed when you know that it’s 6 am, and the sun isn’t quite up yet. I try to tell myself that I’ve slept in compared to everyone else who has probably been up for at least an hour. Sigh, poor me.

Yesterday we had a visit with some new friends, David and Judy. They’ve lived in Haiti for the last 37 years so it was interesting to hear what things were like here about 30 years ago from someone that isn’t boujwa or a missionary because the perspectives are very different. They have a beautiful house on about 2 acres of land. Their garden was what Chris and I got really excited about because they’ve put about 15 years of work into it and have every kind of plant that will grow here growing there. The best part is that they’re always taking clippings and starting new plants, so last night I became the proud owner of orchids, something I’ve been wanting to start for SO long. Judy is also going to start a bunch of Hibiscus plants for me so I can start planting a hedge on the two sides of the property. We can’t, or rather won’t, build a wall around the property for various reasons, but would like a bit more privacy and make it harder for people to slip through the slap together fence that’s there. Hibiscus grow like crazy here, are really hardy and love being hacked back when needed, not to mention that they’re beautiful to look at. I thought it was a good solution to the problem. Judy wants me to come visit again and walk around with her to tell her what we want clippings of. MUCH excitement in the Rolling house!!!ddfrcv Um, that was Jabez’ addition to today’s blog. The nudging of my hand and the keyboard gives me the idea that she might just be hungry…

I planted my orchids this morning. That consisted of tucking some in our big date palm to leave be, and making some wire baskets to hang some off our rock posts on the deck. I also wired some onto our calabash tree. It’ll be interesting to see if they take off. I’m learning all sorts of new gardening things, like how to root soft wood plants right on the plant. Did you know that peeling a bit of the bark back, slapping some mud on it, then tying a plastic bag around it will start roots? Yeah, neither did I. I’ve got a couple of attempts going on the hibiscus that we do have, and a couple on the neighbors jasmine that hangs over our fence.

I dug up a root stump of jasmine that has grown under the fence and transplanted it the other day. This is the second attempt and it seems to be working so far. I’m being a good plant mommy and remembering to water it every day until it gets well established. That’s one of my goals for this year, to focus more care and attention on living things, like our yard and myself. It’s so easy to get bogged down with stuff here and not look after myself, including getting exercise. It’s also hard to get out and get exercise period because people don’t do that here. Everywhere you go there are people, and whatever we’re doing seems to be much more exciting than anything else going on. Going for a walk here would involve everyone staring at you, then saying, “Look, they’re walking. The whites are walking. They’re walking.” And then everyone in the neighborhood would know we were going for a walk in case they couldn’t see for themselves. I decided this morning that I was going to stop putting it off and take advantage of the step on our deck and my Pilates mat. Chris was sad to find out that I had done something while he was out. For some reason he thinks watching me would be fun. Me, not so much.

Okay, I can’t put it off any longer…

I just realized that it probably seems strange that I would be vacuuming my walls. It’s because we have a lot of dust and stucco type walls where the dust can just settle and move in. We also have a nice new shop vac that is perfect for the job. Whoop whoop!

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Blogging = Procrastinating!

  1. I was glad to see why you vac your walls. My vac is generally busy on the ceiling fan so it make perfect sense to me. I love the descriptions of transplanting and putting things in other things to grow. Do you suppose you could send a few photos because I lack creativity and my brain only processes so much. We live in TX and would love some pointers. I am in need of banana (fig) trees anything you can share on those?
    thanks and we are praying for you!
    the schneiders who discovered you from the livesays and now are both of your blogstockers
    ange
    http://www.havingfunservinghim.blogspot.com

Leave a Comment

