Saturday in the Tropics

I’m sitting here with a nice gentle breeze floating through the windows and listening to the water splash against the shore. The sun is shining and I know that if I was standing on the beach it would be pretty warm. Okay, hot. We’ve got a lot of trees though so things are shady with bits of sun, and much, much cooler.

I like Saturdays. They’re generally pretty relaxing around here and we don’t often make big plans. I need to pack later, but until then I’m just going to enjoy hanging out not doing much of anything.

My Mum-in-law sent me the sweetest note yesterday about the blog and how much she loves reading it. It’s nice to know that it’s being enjoyed by people. It’s also been nice to hear from people via the “Comment” feature. I’ve started checking out some of their blogs and I’m getting to know people which helps me feel less out of touch with the rest of the world. So, to everyone reading, thank you for being interested in our little life here. I know that I really have no idea how many people are reading, I’m just glad you are and that you enjoy it.

Chris and I have big plans to watch a couple more episodes of “The Office” today thanks to Troy and Tara. It’s seriously funny! After that I should probably throw some clothes into a bag. I was telling my parents via email this morning how much the whole traveling thing has changed for me since I moved here. Before I would get really excited and start writing lists of stuff that needed to be packed about two weeks in advance. This time tomorrow we’ll be in the Port au Prince airport and there isn’t a single list written. Ha! I think the whole 3-4 airports in 12-24 hours when going back to Canada thing makes the whole experience less…um…exciting?! Maybe it just doesn’t faze me like it used to. :)

And totally not on topic… after blogging for over a year, I just, in the last 5 minutes, figured out how to put a link in the post. And the button has been there the WHOLE time. Um, yeah.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Saturday in the Tropics

  1. Ohhh Stanley, you are too cute. I’m glad you know how to use links now though! I just wanted to say hi, I have missed reading your blog in the last couple of weeks so I will definitely need to catch up while you are in Jamaica. Have an awesome time, I am excited for you guys. Bon voyaj!
    ~B in La Digue

  2. Well, on that note I’ll come out of the “blog stalking shadows” and introduce myself…I’m Britney, origionally from Port-Au-Prince and now I live in Tampa, FL. I have really enjoyed reading your blog!

Leave a Comment

