Pier One Imports Coming to Haiti

Here’s the Spring 2007 catalogue cover.

Okay, not really. That’s one of the chairs that I finished staining today. Chris has allergies. Allergies to many, many things. Dust being one of them. Mold being another. We live in a dusty, humid country known for making things mold. Our solution to not having him start sneezing or wheezing when he sits on our furniture was to get these chairs, and now to stain them so they are not moldable.

This lovely “Moorish Teak” stain was purchased at Batimat. I wandered the aisles of this fairly well supplied hardware store to find all the stuff I would need, which meant actually taking it off the shelf and holding it in my hand. Apparently this is not how things work at Batimat. Apparently you are supposed to walk around the store and find what you need, then you are supposed to find someone to help you. They then walk around with you and write down all of the information about the items you want. Then you go up to the front counter and they put everything into the computer. Then you wait. You wait because they need someone else to take the order that is in the computer and go around the store to get all of the stuff that you have already walked around the store picking out. From there they run it through a till and make a big long receipt and send that to the delivery section of the store. During this time your form of payment is chosen and processed. Once you have waited a sufficient amount of time, you are able to load your items into your vehicle. Then you can leave.

I will never understand. I will also never take for granted the freedom of walking around a store and being able to choose the items I want or choose to have someone help me. Sigh.

That said, the stain looks great. I loved it so much that when Chris was in Port yesterday I made him get me another can because EVERYTHING that isn’t stained soon will be. Oh yeah. I am also a creative genius. I found this wood thing that we think was used to block on of the doors at some point, and decided that it will make a good headboard for our bed. It is also stained “Moorish Teak”, but I probably didn’t need to tell you that.

This entry was posted in crafty by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Pier One Imports Coming to Haiti

  1. Leslie! That chair is absolutely beautiful. It makes me want to come over tomorrow just for the sake of admiring it. I read the post’s heading and the first thing I thought was “Leslie ordered stuff from Pier 1?! And it actually made it down here??” haha, sill me. You rock, I wish I had something I could stain. Staining is the best, is it not?

    Hope you guys have a great weekend!
    ~Britt

  2. It’s so true, staining is the best! Wait until you see my pics from where we stayed in Jamaica – you’ll want to stain everything and put tile and stained glass on anything that has any type of adhesive surface. I want to do sooooo many things around here now because it’s really not hard and the quirkier, the more fun.
    Love and hugs Britt,
    Les

  3. Britt- and Leslie-
    You are dorks.
    What 16 year old says “staining is the best, is it not?”

    FOOL! (s)

    tara

Leave a Comment

