100

So this is number 100. I was looking back over the other 99 posts and it’s amazing to see how life has progressed in the last year and a bit. I like that things are never the same all the time. It keeps life interesting, even if some of the new things aren’t always that fun to deal with at the time. Eventually it all comes around and makes sense or fits into the bigger picture.

Today Chris and I went to Port. Wow about Port. I think I’ve been spoiled in past months because all of our trips have been productive and not too bad. Today it was back to things as usual.

One of our main reasons for going was that I need to get my married name added to my current passport. I haven’t been in Canada long enough since we’ve gotten married to do it, and I also need to make sure that it matches my return ticket to Haiti, so yeah, no changies. I got all of my stuff ready, according to what the Canadian Embassy in Haiti website said I needed. Passport. Check. Letter requesting the addition. Check. Our marriage license or a copy of it. Check. I also copied my current BC drivers license just to have an extra piece of ID with my married name on it. When we got there and saw someone, the woman wasn’t sure if they were even going to be able to do it there even though it said it was a service offered by the embassy. She had to check with the people upstairs. So back to the waiting room. 30 minutes later we go back in and find out that they won’t do it without my original marriage license even though the website said that it was perfectly fine. So now Chris has to go back in on his next trip into Port and take everything back, along with the original marriage license, just so they can see it in person. Even though I could send it in in Canada and they would accept the copy. And even thought the website, the website put up by the government of Canada, said it’s totally acceptable. I’m sure that when he goes back with everything they’re going to tell him that I need to do it in person even though they told us today that I don’t have to. Nothing is ever simple here. Nothing.

After that little adventure we headed down to Batimat, what some would refer to as a hardware store. I call it “the place where they have too many people trying to do the work of one person”. I was laughing today as Chris and I were standing at the entrance because I saw several shopping carts and baskets, with a sign, in English, that read “Please take a basket for you shopping convenience”. That would be nice. Thanks for offering. Oh wait, I forgot, you actually aren’t supposed to take anything off the shelf yourself. You are supposed to find someone to help you, then have them walk around the whole store with you as you shop for what you need. Instead of taking things off the shelves as you shop, this individual writes everything down on a piece of paper. Once you’ve selected all of your items you go back to the front of the store and wait while they put everything into the computer. The computer sends the order to the delivery deparment who then sends someone, or several people, around the store to find all of your items. While this is going on you go pay at the cashier, in another part of the store. Generally it takes a bit of time to get everything on your list, so we decided we would have lunch in the restaurant there while we waited. We took our time. When we were done they still weren’t finished collecting our items. So then we waited some more. The whole Batimat experience took about 2 hours. Whoo hoo. That’s what I call a good time!

From there we went down the road a bit to see if the place that we get steel from sold aluminum roofing. They didn’t. While Chris was checking I sat in the truck, and it was fairly quiet around there. Off in the not so far away distance I heard machine gun fire. I remembered that we had come in the back side and that the front entrance comes down Route 1 National, right in front of Cite Soliel. The UN started doing raids in Cite Soliel just before we returned after Christmas and has set up a base there, and started raiding regularly. I was a bit disturbed and comforted at the same time with hearing the gun fire. Disturbed because I was thinking of all the things that surround bullets flying through the air. Comforted because I know that something is finally happening in the country after people have essentially been waiting for two years. Maybe longer. It’s also easy to forget about that side of things when we live out in Pierre Payen and focus on building filters. It’s so much quieter and feels far away from it all.

After a couple of other stops we headed home and were halfway there when this crazy bang/blow up sound hit and we saw things flying from behind the truck. We thought one of the rolls of felt paper for the roof had fallen out of the truck, but it turns out the rad blew out and the chunks were the fan blowing apart. Yes, we were driving the KIA. Of course. Jean brought the other truck out and towed us home. I can just imagine how that must have looked to everyone around us. The blancs having to get a tow?!?! What? Ha ha.

So after the really fun day I’m pooped and needing a shower. Hope you enjoyed celebrating #100 with me.

This entry was posted in randomness, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “100

  1. Stinks for you that you couldn’t get your name change finished today and that Chris will have to go back, I am with you in your rant on gov’t of Canada agencies that can’t do what they say on their websites!

    are they amending your passport or issuing you a new one? Just curious as that is one of the many things on my to-do list, and I had been told that to change my name I would have to basically get a whole new passport. (and my current one doesn’t expire until 2009)

    How I don’t miss hearing gunshots! I’m sorry to hear about your rad experience but glad that Jean could come and tow you guys home! no BCAA in Haiti!!

    Gorgeous photos from your Jamaica trip by the way~~

Leave a Comment

