The Reasons Why

The reason why it’s nice to get out and see other parts of the country. There are so many hidden treasures lurking behind mountains up dusty roads.

The reason why I have hope that one day Haiti might be green again. It is possible for communities to protect their land and make something beautiful from it. We actually saw a grove of citrus trees – a first for the three of us.

The reason why education is so important here. A country that was once considered the “pearl of the Caribbean” is now denuded because people don’t understand the consequences of their actions.

The reason why I love the people that live off the beaten path. The woman on the first horse kindly told me that I could take their picture, it was fine with her. I also love the smiling boy on the bicycle. I love that he’s smiling because I know what he just rode up. What he calls a road most North Americans would call…well, just imagine driving up a rock pile in a bull dozer. That’s what it felt like in the truck and we all let out a sigh and a small cheer when we got over the top.

The reason why I have so much respect for the people that live beyond where my eyes can see. This group of ladies (and one guy) are all headed back from the Pont Sunday market. I don’t know where they were heading, but I know that it was probably already about an hours donkey ride from where they came.

The reason why I can still have hope in people here. This shoeless machete carrying man was more than willing to give Chris a hand with closing the box of the truck. His toothless smile when we offered him a ride to wherever he was going was priceless.

The reason why I feel angry. A beautiful sunset shouldn’t ever go with a hillside on fire. This is the reason that Haiti is naked. Don’t worry, there were no trees harmed in this senseless exercise. Those were all cut down a long time ago. I so badly want people to see that there could be so much more to their country if they would just let the land heal and grow. Sigh.

The pictures are all from the adventure today that Barb, Chris and I took. Barb called this morning because she was going stir crazy and needed to get out. We picked her up, grabbed some lunch in St. Marc, then took a back road to Pont Sundae and on to Des Chappelles where we visited our friend Karen. She runs an orphanage and school. One of the little boys, Moise, was the highlight of my day. He was so incredibly funny and kept calling Chris “Ti Gason” which means little boy. Compared to a five year old that’s less than 3 feet tall, Chris is definitely not a little boy. I haven’t seen that much life in a child here for a long time. I realized how much difference a bit of love can make in the life of someone so small.

On the way home Chris and I took the beach road from St. Marc. It’s where the old railway used to run. We stopped at the lighthouse and watched the sunset from the rocks down by the water. We became a taxi when we picked up about 15 teenagers on their way home from a day at the beach together. They were a really nice bunch of kids that didn’t mind sitting on the load of sand we bought in Pont Sundae. We saw the fires burning on the hillside as the sun turned the sky orange and prayed that the rain clouds will amount to something tonight, something big enough to drench everything.

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

