Friday Thoughts

It’s Friday. I’m happy. I feel like a bit of a whiner because we did have two days off this week. But, it’s still the end of the work week and that’s something I will always be grateful for.

Boss Carlo is here with his sidekick fixing the armoire we got him to build for us. He needed to make some adjustments to the doors, like actually put wood in them rather than particle board. I’ve been fighting a migraine all day so the banging isn’t my favorite thing right now, but I’ll deal because it needs to get done so we can get it in our room and put all of our clothes in it. We woke up a few mornings ago to chewing. Blah! I’m soooo looking forward to closing doors! Chris introduced Boss Carlo to the wonderful world of multi-tools and lent him his screwdriver with changing bits. The look on his face when he figured out how to change them was pretty fun.

This afternoon Chris and I walked down the beach to go visit Marcel. It was the first time that I had met him. He lives in a little house by the water with any number of cats and other people. He’s turning 90 this year, and has apparently hardly ever been sick. That’s an amazing life for someone living here. Granted he did spend 20 years in the US, but I think that’s only a bit of the reason that he’s as old as he is. I would say the rest is because he stays busy. He’s always got one project or another on the go. He says the way to stay young is to keep your mind active. Check. His most current project is making candle holders with a hurricane top on them so that people don’t have to buy kerosene, because kerosene is expensive. He also makes the candles and puts powdered Neem tree leaves in them to keep mosquitoes and cockroaches away. The crazy thing is that the candles actually work.

I think the best remedy for my head is going to be an evening of doing very little. Maybe watching some shows and eating the chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream that I made yesterday is in order.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Friday Thoughts

  1. Hey Cats-Dad got here … we’re all happy to see him.I wanted to tell you that we are going to Port for church tomorrow and if Rod (from church) does his job then I should have 24 Season One in my hands by the end of the Service —– so we will make a meet to get it to you … it cannot wait, this is the best show yet, trust me. :)We have not watched the Office from Thurdsay yet, but hope to tonight.We’re building a huge table today, such excitement.Have a good weekend-tara

  2. 24 is my favorite show! I began watching at season three. I rented the first two seasons and watched them straight through. It is difficult to wait a week now for thenext episode. Home made chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream! Wowza! You are a becoming a cooking legend Les. We have another blizzard here. It is freezing hard and then snowing again,melting some and then snowing some more. The ice ripped the ejector chute clean off of Paul’s snow blower today. Now it is snowing big light fluffy snowflakes. Very pretty.

  3. You should bring some of those candles back here, I think they’d be a big hit! Do they smell better than those yucky citronella candles?

Leave a Comment

