Under Cover

Last night was a dry night. Hallelujah! Chris had Jean and Thony put huge tarps over the house on the parts that were over the bedrooms. That was smart, not sure why we didn’t do that earlier…

Chris and David didn’t get back from Port until just before 8pm. It was a long day for both of them. David is really nice and is going nail gun happy as I type, which is a bit hard on my head. I’ve got earphones in and the music turned up but my eyes do this spastic twitch every time the nail gun starts going off. I’m willing to deal though because I’m soooo looking forward to a dry house. The tar paper is up on half of it and the rest will go on later when it’s not so hot on that side of the house. Once that’s all on we can rest easy because we’ll be water proof :)


David brought treats from some people that love to entertain us. More movies and TV shows. Yay! He also brought our new security cameras (thanks Paul!). They’re crazy small and one is wireless so it can go out in the shop area and we won’t have to run wires. I’m only telling you this so that if you visit you don’t try to steal our mangoes because we’ll know it was you and the Haitian punishment for thieves, especially people that steal food, is to tie them up and burn them. You’ve been fair warned.

The visit to Megamart proved to be very much like Costco. They even have the membership cards just like Costco, picture and all. Actually it’s kind of sad because the membership cards look more professional than a Haitian driver’s license. Next time we go in I have to go get my mugshot and card done. I figured out really quickly when I was unpacking stuff that there was a better deal when you bought things in threes. I now have enough Ziploc bags to last months. Chris even found a case of milk. Real milk in a carton. It’s not pasteurized so you don’t need to refrigerate it until it’s opened. It was so exciting to eat cereal this morning with milk that didn’t come in powdered form. The Raisin Bran was a treat too :)

That’s about all the excitement from here. The next day or so will just be banging and more banging :)

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

