Measure TWICE, Cut Once…Sigh

My hands are pretty achy today. I’ve been undertaking more do-it-yourself projects around here. This latest one involved teaching myself to use some of the power tools I discovered in the shop. They’ve always been there, but no one could find them before the addition was done.

So, in the last couple of days I’ve spend some good bonding time with a router and hand sander from the dark ages. The skill saw and I are old friends.

The almost finished product:

I say almost because it still needs some minor tweaking, like being attached to the freezer, but I’ve got an idea about how to make that work.

Yes, this lovely hard wood butcher block style counter top is lovely. But it was only made to be pretty because I needed something practical before I started to rage or something like that. Our house is known by all of our friends to not be the most electrically sound place to be. At any given time current can come shooting through random appliances. The freezer has been the biggest culprit of all and after grounding the socket and several attempts at eliminating shocking possibilities nothing seemed to work for the long haul. Enter the butcher block. I do a lot of food prep right there because it’s between the stove and the freezer, so now I don’t have to wear shoes in the kitchen while I cook. Yay! It really is the simple things.

My little do-it-myself projects have taught me a few things. Like the fact that I want things to be done NOW. Not later. I don’t want to wait. I’ve learned about measuring and accounting for the thickness of wood. Failing to do so means wasting wood and time. And sanity. Using the right materials for the project is also very important. The wrong materials will only lead to excessive frustration, and perhaps tears. Asking for help is another big one. I have this problem where I want to do things on my own, but sometimes asking my husband with the engineering brain for help saves me a lot of headaches and “If I would have know what you were doing I could have helped you…” remarks. And he’s right. It’s true, two heads are better than one in most cases. I just have a hard time communicating what I’m trying to do because I often work out the process as I’m going, which in hindsight isn’t always the best approach. Need to plan more – check!

So there you have it. Third world wood working for dummies.

My big project for today will involve putting away the tools, and everything else that resembles any kind of construction aide. And cleaning the house and deck since I gave up on that weeks ago. Cleaning something that was disintegrating or under construction becomes an exercise in futility and a text book definition of insanity. Now that all of our roofs are on and in tact and the work is finished, I can clean up and know that I’ve made some progress. Yay again.

This entry was posted in crafty by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Measure TWICE, Cut Once…Sigh

Leave a Comment

