Little Miami and Monsieur Henri

Yay! So glad it’s Wednesday. Yesterday I ventured out on my own for the longest solo drive (about 45 minutes each way) I’ve made yet and went to La Digue to babysit our friends kids while they spent the day doing various things in Port au Prince. Isaac just can’t understand why I wouldn’t be able to come and babysit them everyday. Or why Chris would want to stay at home and work at the mission when he could have come there for the day. Or why he didn’t bring all of our mission work to their mission so he could work there for the day and play too. They’re going on a holiday at the end of the week and Isaac couldn’t understand why we didn’t want to go with them. He finally decided that since they only had two rooms it probably wouldn’t work out so well. I was told that he would think about me and dream about me while he was gone. That wee man is good for my ego. Oh yeah Tara! I forgot to tell you that your daughter ate three helpings of noodles with cheese. And told her brother, “Isaac, sometimes people just need some quiet time.” Hope and Isaac are only 5, which meant I had to stifle laughter at times. It was fun to spend some more time with them, and now I know what Chris and I have gotten ourselves into with committing to look after Hope and Phoebe for two weeks. It’ll be a breeze!

Chris and I ran into St. Marc this morning to run a couple of errands. I had to get some passport pictures done for my Permis des Sejours, Carte Identite and Haitian drivers license applications. I was so amazed to walk into Monsieur Henri Studio today and see a working photo printing machine, working computers and professional staff. We paid the $40 Haitian fee (about $5 US) for 6 pictures, got our receipts, sat for a couple of minutes, then I got directed into the studio where they actually had real photography studio lights. I sat, the photographer adjusted the lights, told me to arange myself and then snapped two pictures. The whole process took maybe five minutes. And the pictures will be ready later today. Moments like that give me hope for Haiti because some people get it. By it I mean that business can functions efficiently and customer service can be given and people will be happy with the results and eventually come back because of the whole package.

After that Chris and I headed down to “Little Miami” which is actually several blocks of cobblestone road that’s been turned into a street market. It eventually joins up with the main market area. If you’ve ever donated something to a thrift store, especially on the east coast of the US, and wondered what’s happened to it, I can now tell you. It’s been eventually bundled up or bought by Haitians visiting the US, then brought back here to die…I mean sell. It’s kind of sad because you can tell by looking at them that some things will never, ever work again and probably haven’t in a long time, but people are trying anyway. Chris doesn’t usually like to go down into the market. I’m not sure what the difference was today. Maybe it was because I was wearing my “I can get away shoes”. Maybe it was because I spent a whole day away on my own and came back alive and without any exciting stories to tell.

One more little piece of news…we have someone to look after the mission for us in late summer so we can head back to Canada/US for a month. We’re really excited to be able to make some plans because by then we’ll have been in country for about 8 months and will probably really be needing a break, but mostly because the timing will work out so perfectly to be back home with friends and family for some big life stuff. My friend Renee is getting married in late August and I didn’t know if we’d be able to be there, Chris’ best friend Joel and his wife Trina are expecting their baby at the beginning of September, and, the main reason for wanting to make a trip home then is that Chris’ brother will be getting married in the middle of September (Yay Ben & Missy!). We’ll do some camping in there, see my family and of course Chris’ family at the wedding. We’re pretty excited that we get to go. It’s still a long way off and we know we have a lot of stuff to do here between now and then, but it’s something to look forward to.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

