Reflections

I was looking back on past posts and feeling a bit retrospective today. I realized how much has changed around here and for me in the last year. Granted, the process wasn’t always that fun, but it’s nice to be able to see progress.

I remember when flying into Haiti had me feeling nervous and giddy. Now I just want to get off the plane, find my bags, and get in the truck when we come back. I remember when the thought of driving here by myself seemed a wee bit scary. This week I’ve hardly been home. I remember when bugs and lizards would make me squeemish. I just got attacked by a moth and there’s a pair of lizards attacking each other on my wall, and I forgot all about the foot long one that was on our wall on the weekend. Chris gave up on trying to encourage him to leave with the broom. For all I know he’s still wandering around here somewhere. I remember days when I would get so frustrated because I couldn’t talk to anyone, and now I can speak and understand a lot. Now our workers are starting to whip out the random English words that they know and it catches me off guard. Our house looks like a home now and not a dumping ground for everything that may be useful one day down the road. Things have been cleaned up and organized, thought not always dusted. We laugh a lot more than I remember us doing before, and are having fun with each other. Our workers are doing a great job with the filter program and on Tuesday one of them gave another a talking to about taking responsibility for your work and the others you’re supposed to be leading. That was encouraging because when it comes from us it just turns into “blah, blah, blah…” Looking back just shows me how much work we’ve done and how much has really happened. It can be hard to remember when a lot of days kind of feel the same here.

While I was starting to get dinner ready Troy phoned Chris and I heard things like, “You want to bring the dog here for the week…when are you leaving…sure…” So we’re Peanut sitting starting tomorrow while Troy, Tara and the kids take a much needed vacation. Isaac should be happy. He thinks that we should bring Jabez with us every time we go visit because her and Peanut miss each other and want to play. They’ve met once. It should be fun to see how Miss Lippy Pants feels about sharing our attention with The Horse. Peanut is a Bull Mastif and I watched Isaac ride her the other day, though not for very long before she sat down so he slid off her back. I’m sure she’ll enjoy the vacation too ;) It might actually be good for Jabez to have another dog here. She’s gotten pretty brazen recently. Like this morning when she barked at us and started pushing the furniture around with her head because we didn’t jump up and feed her. Jeepers. It wouldn’t have had anything to do with the fact that we were intentionally ignoring her just because we know that once the nose in the armpit and prancing in circles doesn’t get a response she’s forced to take further action.

I went into St. Marc today to get my pictures for my Permis des Sejours. Wow. I have few words. Except maybe that you could slap a number on my chest and call me a jail bird. They’re about that flattering. Chris looked at them and said, “They aren’t that bad…Oh wait, your hair.” Yeah. Exactly.

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

