Nice Words


HAPPY 30TH ANNIVERSARY!

Hey Mom & Dad! Happy Anniversary! Sorry I didn’t get this up yesterday – I’m lame and got totally absorbed in work. Sigh.

This picture was taken on October 3, 2005 – the day my family saw me get on a plane headed for this strange land. There were plenty of tears but also the knowledge that this was what God was taking me into. None of us had any idea that less than a year later not only would I still be in Haiti, but I would be married.

Looking back over the last almost 29 years of my life I have tons of good memories with my family. My parents have always loved our town and have lived in the same house since before I was born. They’ve thought about moving several times, but then realize that there are just too many memories and hard work put into what really is a home. We’ve taken great family holidays including a last ditch effort to Cuba in 2005 because they had a feeling that it might be the last time we were going to be together as a family unit. Last year when I told them that I was getting married not only did they help us plan and execute a great wedding, they welcomed Chris into their hearts and our family with enthusiasm even though they had spent very little time with him. Over time they’ve come to see even more of the reasons why I love him so much. To this day one of my favorite things is sitting around the dinner table with my family just being with each other. I think that’s when we’re the most relaxed and most ourselves. It was so great to be able to do that at Christmas with them and I realized how blessed I am.

Getting married has shown Chris and I what things are really important to us in our marriage and what we would really like to focus on while raising a family. Many of those things come from being raised in families that had a strong sense of what was important.

Mom & Dad – Thanks for all of your love and support over the years, even when you had no idea where that would lead or what sacrifices it would mean. I miss you guys like crazy and so badly wish that we could have been there to celebrate such a huge milestone with you. We’ll have to hold off for 4 1/2 months :)

~ Love your incredibly cheeky daughter


This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

