Being Scrappy

The class ended yesterday – yay! We’re laying low today and just enjoying a day with nothing planned. Actually we’re enjoying a morning of being nerds. Sitting here, spending good quality time together… in front of our computers :) Chris is playing a video game and I’m fiddling with a variety of things. Well, mostly one thing.

Yesterday I ventured into the world of computer scrapbooking. It sounds kind of silly because normally you would cut and paste things into the album etc. Considering that every trip into the country allows us about 140 lbs of luggage space stocking up on pretty paper and stuff isn’t going to happen anytime soon. I actually saw a few examples of computer scrapping on Theresa’s blog and decided to check it out yesterday. I’ll be honest, I’m a bit of a stationary junkie – pens, paper, post it’s etc – I can’t help it, I get excited. When I would go into the scrapbook stores back home I would want to just buy the paper because it was pretty. Being able to download “paper” files and all the fun little stuff to put on the pages is a much more cost effective way to go.

Since all my pictures from the last two years have been digital and are either on disk or on my computer, with no chance of getting printed any time in the near future this is a good alternative for me. I’ve found some good websites (here & here – just to give a couple examples) for papers etc. I’ve used Publisher for a long time and am having fun using the scrapbook stuff with what I already know. I was wanting to scrapbook stuff from our wedding and honeymoon, and just start a “life” scrapbook for our time here. There’s so much that goes by that I already don’t remember if I don’t think about it hard enough.


Anyway, I’m having fun with this. This is one of the pages I did this morning. Took me about 15 minutes. The picture is from our honeymoon last year.

This entry was posted in crafty by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

