Update From the Crib

We’re on day one of babysitting. The girls arrived last night and had a good night. Phoebe was only up once in the night and in about 20 minutes she was fed and back in bed nodding off. I can handle that. I was told that her favorite things were to either sit in her crazy bouncy chair thing or to sit on the floor with her toys. That was true until about 9 am this morning when I put her on my lap while I was working on last months accounting. Troy, I’ve taught her everything I know, she should be able to give you a hand with everything next time round. Her expertise is in the area of taste testing receipts to make sure they meet quality standards. She tried her hand at writing too. That needs a bit of work.

Hope has had a very full day of playing in the sand, coloring, helping Chris in the garden and running through the sprinkler. She’s now giving Chris a hand with making fruit juice. By the end of the week I should have her cooking dinner for us ;) She told me last night that she was very excited to sleep in her room here and that she hoped she could stay for at least three days! To make eating lunch more fun Chris showed her what happens when you put a piece of cactus in dirty water (it coagulates the dirt and makes things settle, ending in clear water).


The class ended up well and Saturday we just hung out at home. Actually we were big nerds that sat in front of our computers. I did have a fun experience when an unknown truck full of people turned into our driveway. The driver knew us because we trained a man from his community years ago. They were stopping for a pit stop for one of the women with them. That woman ended up being Rebecca Larkin (for any Prairites reading), a former floor mate from Bible college. We were both baffled at seeing each other in some random place in Haiti of all countries. We spent a few minutes catching up and will hopefully be able to make arrangements for her to come visit here for a few days. She’ll be here for a couple more months, then is planning on returning for a year.

Sunday I spent a good part of the day cleaning the house and finding everything that got moved around the week before, and planting a bunch of plants from a friend. I’ll be sure to take some pictures when everything gets growing well.

I just heard a “Oooohh! This is fun!!” and “Woo hoo!” as Chris is showing Hope how to push fruit through the juicer ;)

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Update From the Crib

  1. That was my favorite post ever!!! Ok, it was probably because I got to see my girls. Thank you again, and I’m glad we’ve got friends like you to help us out. I’m also glad that the girls will come home with new skill-sets including gardening-accounting-and water purification.-Troy

Leave a Comment

