It’s a Dog’s Life

Having kids here all week has been a bit of an adjustment for Chris and I. Having kids here all week has been an even bigger adjustment for Jabez. She’s been demoted from baby in the family to simple dog. I wasn’t sure how she would handle this new ranking system, but she seems to be doing okay for the most part.

Her normal day usually consists of a lot of lying in the yard, the occasional chicken chase, harassing us for her food, and if we’re really lucky she might actually bark at strangers – if we’re lucky. In the last four days she’s traded in afternoons in the work yard on the sand piles for afternoons spent lying on the deck watching the girls. Sometimes she moves into the house to get closer to the action. There has also been the occasional walk by licking – of me and the baby. Two days ago Phoebe got Jabez tongue right up the nose. Jabez just flopped on the floor afterwards waiting for some big acknowledgment of her affection. Phoebe sat there looking stunned.

Today I saw a side of Jabez I haven’t seen before. Hope was looking for “fun” as she called it. The fun ended up being a small ball of string. The ball of string ended up, well, you can see for yourself…

And…

I believe here Jabez was actually helping Hope by holding the string while she was getting tied up.
It was so funny to just sit back and watch our dog being harassed since she’s usually the one doing the harassing, and the fact that she was being incredibly patient all the while. This though, is my favorite…

I didn’t get one of Hope actually sitting on her. I was too shocked by the fact that Jabez didn’t even move. Heck, she barely batted an eyelash. If I ever need a few moments to myself I’ll just ask her to step in and take over for a while. I think she could handle it, though making bottle with no opposable thumbs may be a challenge.

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “It’s a Dog’s Life

  1. hey, I’m one of your blog readers (jumped over here from the Livesay’s site). this post (& pictures) had me laughing out loud!! thanks for sharing.Jen

Leave a Comment

