Update from the Crib Part II

Chris had to go to Port yesterday so I was on my own again with the girls. I think I’m getting this all figured out though because there wasn’t any major excitement. Barb came over for a bit of a visit and Phoebe was happy to have someone to hold her as much as she wanted and Hope was happy to have me to play with her as much as she wanted ;)

Hope taught us some new games where miraculously everyone wins. Always winning is kind of fun. Phoebe practiced her standing again, this time only aided by the footstool. Troy & Tara, I’m sorry for the monster we’ve created. The sitting thing is really losing it’s appeal :(

Yesterday evening Hope traded in the Rasta look for something more girlie. We had a “toe nail party” last night! Whoop whoop! I introduced her to the beauty of a nail file and she practiced her polishing abilities. I have to say, for a five year old I was pretty impressed. She picked out a lovely purple color for her own toes and a bright pink for mine. We’re both sporting some orange finger nails too. We of course had to show off our pretty digits when Chris got home, but he was much less enthusiastic about the whole thing than we were. He was too sidetracked by the new tires for the Volkswagen. They’re Goodyear Wranglers. I was supposed to tell you that. He made me do it.

The trip to Port was so Chris could take the VW in for inspection. We’ve been trying to get papers for it for months now with no luck. It seems that the owner, five owners back, never handed over the ownership papers. He’s now dead. Chris had to go in with one of the previous owners, I think second or third back, and make a claim for lost papers. The inspection is a good sign. It means that eventually we will have plates on it, we just have to wait for them. Could be two weeks, could be two months. Welcome to Haiti.

Troy comes out this afternoon with the boys to let them burn off some energy and have big person conversation, then he’ll take the girls home for the weekend to try and re-indoctrinate them. Then we get to undo all of that again next week ;) Tee hee.

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

