Tuesday

The girls went home for the weekend to hang out with their family and so Chris and I could get a break. Man, I can understand why parents are so tired all the time :) They should be coming back today for the next three nights, then Troy will get them again on Friday and Tara’s back on Monday.

We had a great weekend. Friday night we collapsed on our bed and watched a couple of episodes of 24. Saturday morning we were up early – 6 am – blah! I reinforce my previous thoughts about people that rise before 6 am without good reason. Ours was just a matter of having got up that early every day for the last two weeks. We had a relaxing morning of drinking coffee and watching more 24. We decided on taking a day trip out to Kaliko, a resort area about 1/3 of the way to Port, to visit Josie. Josie is the “boat guy” and has a yard full of big rich people style boats that he looks after and boards for the owners. He also teaches scuba diving and does diving trips out to the Archadens, a small group of islands about 3 hours down the coast from where we live. I haven’t been there yet but I’ve heard the snorkeling is good, and apparently the diving isn’t half bad either.

We picked up Barb in Montrouis and enjoyed a few hours sitting on Josie’s beach under a big tree, just visiting. It was nice to have some privacy and not see people everywhere. Barb asked what I would like to change about our house/property and I think that would be it – to block off our section of the beach so that we don’t get people walking by and stopping to stare at us all the time. We never just sit on our beach because we get harassed. It’s pretty annoying considering we live where we do. The beach is basically a highway for foot traffic. Anyway, after a while we decided to head to the resort for lunch. They had lobster on the menu for the same price as chicken. You can guess what we all ordered. The service was good and so was the food. Kaliko is actually quite nice, AND their public bathroom had a toilet that flushed, running water, soap, toilet paper and paper towel! Generally if you get any two of those things in a bathroom her you’re doing well.

On the way home we stopped to see Judy and David and had a good visit with them. Judy gave me a bunch more plants, so Sunday morning before we headed to our missionary meeting I did a bunch of gardening and got everything in the ground. Chris and I came home that night and had to treat ourselves for scabies. Phoebe had picked them up somewhere and Hope had gotten them from Phoebe, and we got them from the two of them. Other friends of ours have a regular clinic so we were able to get the treatment from them. It’s this clear liquid that you spread all over your body and leave on for 12 hours, then shower off. It works amazingly well. I’ve been here for a year and a half and this is the first third world malady that I’ve caught so I feel like I’m doing well.

Yesterday morning I woke up to some sort of flu. I’ve been sick before like that, but not that bad. I spent the whole day in bed and fell asleep around 7:30 pm. This morning I’m feeling pretty good so hopefully that’s passed.

Yesterday both of our concrete shakers broke which means that they have to spend more time building filters. We don’t have time to order anything before Tara comes back and she’s already bringing a whole bunch of stuff for us. Pray that somehow we’ll be able to get some bigger equipment and other supplies in the country soon. It’s so hard to not have normal mail or shipping companies. We have DHL here, but the last time we sent a stack of papers out of the country for a Rotary grant report it cost us about $60 US. Ouch!

This entry was posted in this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

